Photo via WhatsApp
Photo via WhatsApp

Instant messaging app WhatsApp has finally launched the much-awaited 'Disappearing Messages' on its platform in India for both Android and iOS users that will automatically delete new messages sent to a chat after seven days when turned on. The feature is also enabled in KaiOS and web.

In a one-to-one chat, either person can turn disappearing messages on or off. In groups, admins will have control on the new feature.

"Our goal is to make conversations on WhatsApp feel as close to in-person as possible, which means they shouldn't have to stick around forever. That's why we're excited to introduce the option to use disappearing messages on WhatsApp," the company said in an earlier statement.

The Facebook-owned platform is starting with the seven-day limit.

The feature will be rolling out to over two billion active users globally this month. The platform has over 400 million users in India.

Here's how to enable the 'Disappearing Messages' feature on a one-on-one chat:

1. Open the WhatsApp chat that you prefer to use the feature with

2. Tap on the contact's name.

3. You should find an option called 'Disappearing messages'. If you don't make sure the app is updated on the device that you are using.

4. If prompted, tap on the 'Continue' option and turn the feature on.

If one wants to enable the feature for a group chat, they will have to navigate to the group where they are an admin, tap on the group's name, and follow the aforementioned steps.

Once enabled, new messages sent in the individual or group chat will disappear after seven days. The most recent selection controls all messages in the chat.

"This setting won't affect messages you previously sent or received in the chat. In an individual chat, either user can turn disappearing messages on or off. In a group chat, only group admins can turn disappearing messages on or off," WhatsApp informed in its statement.

If a user doesn't open WhatsApp in the seven-day period, the message will disappear.

However, the preview of the message might still be displayed in notifications until WhatsApp is opened.

"When you reply to a message, the initial message is quoted. If you reply to a disappearing message, the quoted text might remain in the chat after seven days".

If a disappearing message is forwarded to a chat with disappearing messages off, the message won't disappear in the forwarded chat.

"If a user creates a backup before a message disappears, the disappearing message will be included in the backup. Disappearing messages will be deleted when a user restores from a backup," WhatsApp explained.

WhatsApp said that people should only use disappearing messages with trusted individuals.

For example, it's possible for someone to forward or take a screenshot of a disappearing message and save it before it disappears.

"You can copy and save content from the disappearing message before it disappears and take a photo of a disappearing message with a camera or other device before it disappears," the company advised.

By default, media you receive in WhatsApp will be automatically downloaded to your photos.

If disappearing messages are turned on, media sent in the chat will disappear, but will be saved on the phone if auto-download is on.

The app is reportedly working on a new feature that would let users mute their videos before posting those to their friends and family members or putting them up as status.

WhatsApp has also started rolling out advanced wallpaper features to more users.

This feature lets users set a different wallpaper for each chat. You can choose to set one wallpaper for all chats on WhatsApp, or manually select a different one for each chat.

(With inputs from agencies)

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal

www.freepressjournal.in