Hyderabad : It rained cash on sportspersons from Telangana on Independence Day Friday as the state government honoured the medallists at the Commonwealth Games.

Five CWG medallists, India’s top woman shuttler Saina Nehwal, boxer Nikhat Zareen, kabaddi player Mamata Poojari, mountaineers Malavath Poorna and S. Anand Kumar, their coach B. Shekhar Babu, and badminton coaches Pullela Gopichand and Mohammed Arif were honoured. Shooter Gagan Narang was richer by Rs.90 lakh. Shuttler Parupalli Kasyap, who clinched a gold medal in CWG, received a cash award of Rs.50 lakh. He was also given another cheque of Rs.25 lakh for his performance in the 2012 Olympics. Jwala Gutta received Rs.25 lakh.

Badminton players P.V. Sindhu and R.V. Gurusaidutt received Rs.15 lakh Shuttler Saina Nehwal finally got her due. She also got Rs.20 lakh for securing the gold medal in 014 Australian Open.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal