Updated on: Tuesday, May 28, 2019, 11:56 PM IST

Union Bank forges ahead


Mumbai: Suraj Shahi’s double strike proved decisive for Union Bank of India to stage a grand recovery and record a stunning 5-4 victory against formidable outfit and defending champions Uncle Kitchen (UK) United in a men’s quarter-final match of the Willingdon Catholic Gymkhana’s 38th Victor D’Mello Memorial invitational rink hockey, at the Gymkhana’s floodlit tennis courts here on Wednesday.

UK United boasting of several international players including Amit Gowda, Devinder Walmiki and Yuvraj Walmiki, succumbed to the fine combined play of the spirited Union Bank side, which put a strong fight to send the favourites crashing out and to book their place in the penultimate round. Besides Shahi’s efforts the other three goals for Union Bank came from Vinay Walmiki, Prince Chaurasia and Anand Rai while UK United scored through a brace of goals from Devinder and one each from Yuvraj and Amit.


In a Women’s quarter-final encounter, Freunds Red riding of Diksha Bhosle’s twin strikes got the better of Sea View SC by a narrow 3-2 margin. Firdous Shaikh netted the third goal for Freunds, while Nadiya Shaikh scored both the goals for Sea View.

Men’s Open (Qfs): Union Bank of India: 5 (Suraj Shahi 2, Vinay Walmiki, Prince Chaurasia, Anand Rai) bt UK United: 4 (Devinder Walmiki 2, Yuvraj Walmiki, Amit Gowda); Ave Maria: 1 (Anup Walmiki) bt India Rush: 0; Coorg SC: 4 (Somanna KP, Achaiah DM, Machaiah PA, Appanna AC) beat Companeroes SC: 3 (Oriston D’Souza, Sanket Dhotre, Sushil Ekka). Women’s (Qfs): Freunds Red: 3 (Diksha Bhosle 2, Firdous Shaikh) bt Sea View SC: 2 (Nadiya Shaikh 2).

Rohidas sparkles
Rohidas Koyande with his fine all-round performance hogged the limelight and guided Datamatics Global Services Limited to an easy 10-wicket win over LIC of India Sports Club in a second round match of the Air India Invitation T20 tournament organized by Air India Western Region and played at the Air India ground, Kalina on Thursday.


Brief Scores
LIC of India SC 77 (Ritesh Palav 4-6, Rohidas Koyande 3-5) lost to Datamatics Global Services Ltd 83-0 (Rohidas Koyande 49*, Swapnil Sawant 26*) by 10 wickets. MoM: Rohidas Koyande (Datamatics Global); Mahindra and Mahindra SC 107 (Rohan Kalbhor 28; Ketan Kharar 3-5, Ajinkya Dhumal 3-16, Kiran Desai 2-32) lost to WNS Global Services Pvt Ltd 109-3 (Ajinkya Patil 65*, Jitendra Mandawkar 2018) by seven wickets. MoM: Ajinkya Patil (WNS)

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Published on: Friday, April 12, 2019, 12:12 AM IST