Top ranked players make the cut

Mumbai: The top two seeded pairs justified their billing as they cruised into the final of the Khar Gymkhana Snooker Shootout 2019, sponsored by Rustomjee Builders and played at Khar Gymkhana’s Yasin Merchant Snooker Room. Top seeds Aditya Mehta / Dhvaj Haria and the Khar Gym duo of Yasin Merchant and Ishpreet Singh Chadha scored contrasting semi-final victories to book their place in the final.

In the first semi-final contest, Aditya (scratch handicap) and Dhvaj (scratch) put an end to the impressive run of the Park Club combo of Vishal Gehani (+20) and Ameya Sankhala (+30). The superior combination of Aditya and Dhvaj brooked little opposition from the Park Club pair and quickly raced to a 4-0 win in the best-of-7 frame match.

On the adjacent table, the home favourites of Yasin and Ishpreet encountered a bit of resistance from the mixed pairing of Faisal Khan (scratch) of Railways and Manu (scratch) of Delhi before pulling through by a 4-2 margin in the second semi-final.

Earlier in the last 8 round, Aditya and Dhvaj also enjoyed an easy outing as they tamed the team of Md. Hussain (+10) and Ketan Chawla (SCR) winning 4-0. It was easy going for Yasin and Ishpreet as they comfortably defeated the Ahmedabad team of Mohsin Achhava (+25) and Karmesh Patel (+15) 4-0.

In the other two quarter-final matches, the Park Club duo of Vishal Gehani (+20) and Ameya Sankhala (+30) got the better of the fancied pairing of Hasan Badami (Scratch) and Mukund Bharadiya (scratch) by a 4-2 frame scores. Railway cueist Faisal Khan (scratch) and Delhi player Manu Choudhari (scratch) overcame R. Girish (scratch) and Prabdeep Singh (+10) by a tight 4-3 scoreline.

Results – Quarter-finals: Aditya Mehta (SCR) / Dhvaj Haria bt Md. Hussain (+10) / Ketan Chawla (SCR) 4-0; Vishal Gehani (+20)/Ameya Sankhala (+30) bt Hasan Badami (SCR) / Mukund Bharadiya (SCR) 4-2; Faisal Khan (SCR) / Manu Choudhari (SCR) bt R Girish (SCR)/Prabdeep Singh (+10) 4-3; Yasin Merchant (SCR) / Ishpreet Singh Chadha (SCR) bt Mohsin Achhava (+25)/Karmesh Patel (+15) 4-0. Semi-finals: Aditya Mehta (SCR) / Dhvaj Haria (SCR) bt Vishal Gehani (+20)/Ameya Sankhala (+30) 4-0; Yasin Merchant (SCR) / Ishpreet Singh Chadha (SCR) bt Faisal Khan (SCR

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal