Senior Athletics Championship 2019: Nidhi Singh, Diandra Valladares strike it rich; bag 3 gold medals each

Mumbai: Thane athletes continued to rule the roost winning a clutch of gold medals on the second and concluding day of the LIC-69th Maharashtra State Senior Athletics Championship 2019, at the University Sports Ground, Marine Lines on Wednesday.

Indian junior quarter-miler Nidhi Singh proved to be the one-lap queen winning gold in the women’s 400m, 400m hurdles and later anchoring the Thane quartet to victory in the 4x400m relay to complete a grand treble.

Nidhi’s teammate Diandra Valladares completed a sprint double by adding the 200m gold to the 100m dash she won on the first day. Diandra once again dominated from the gun to cruise to victory in 23.98secs,

which was way ahead of her nearest rival Mangiri Revale of Ratnagiri who took silver in 25.22s and the bronze went to Saroj Shetty of Mumbai City in 25.37secs. Diandra also finished with three gold medals having run the final leg in leading Thane to gold in the 4x100m relay.

Nidhi, who was a member of the Indian team which won silver behind hosts Japan in the 2018 Asian Junior Athletics Championship in Gifu, Japan last June, ran quite a strong race but finished in a dismal time of 57.29secs

which was much below her personal best of 56.4 secs. Akola’s Soniya Mokal won the silver in 58.87secs and the bronze was claimed by Pune’s Sangeeta Shinde in 59.65secs.

Nidhi later clinched the 400m hurdles clocking a time of 1:04.83secs ahead of Thane’s Damini Pednekar in 1:08.05s and Satara’s Sunita Jadhav claimed the bronze in 1:10.20secs.

Results (all finals)

Women 200m: 1. Diandra Valladares, 2. Mangiri Revale, 3. Saroj Shetty; 400m: 1. Nidhi Singh 2. Soniya Mokal 3. Sangeeta Shinde; 3000m Steeplechase: 1. Komal Jagadale, 2. Vaishnavi Sawant, 3. Priyanka Chavarkar; 400m hurdles: 1. Nidhi Singh, 2. Damni Pednekar, 3. Sunita Jadhav; 4x400m: 1. Thane, 2. Pune, 3. Nagpur; 4x100m: 1. Thane, 2. Pune, 3. Sangli; Triple jump: 1. Pragati Sankapal, 2. Poornima Marne, 3. Ashmita Dhaware; Javelin throw: 1. Geeta Shinde, 2. Pratiksha Sarafdar, 3. Sakshi Parmar


200m: 1. Jaykumar Gavde, 2. Akshay Khot, 3. Ajit Singh; 400m: 1. Baljeet, 2. Rahul Kadam 3. Yogesh Meher; 3000m Steeplechase: 1. Aditya Bhosale, 2. Akash Pardeshi, 3. Adesh Yadav; 800m: 1. Chaitanya Holgare, 2. Abhijeet Hirkud, 3. Nishant Joshi; 400m hurdles: 1. Krishnat Patil 2. Bhushan Patil, 3. Ganesh Shinde; 4x100m: Thane, 2. Mumbai City, 3. Akola; triple jump: 1. Jay Shah, 2. Krishna Singh, 3. Anilkumar Sahoo; Javelin throw: 1. Jaideep Singh, 2. Uttam Patil, 3. Anil Ghungase

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal