Sanmay, Noel sparkle as Andheri YMCA retain title

Mumbai: Defending champions Andheri YMCA were well served by experienced Noel Pinto and exciting Sanmay Paranjpe as they prevailed over their archrivals Santacruz Gymkhana 3-2 in the title fight to maintain their hold on the premier division honours in the Catapult Sports–Khar Gymkhana MSDTTA Inter-Club table tennis league, hosted by Khar Gymkhana here on Monday.

However, it was  Santacruz Gymkhana’s Nishaad Shah, India No.7 in the youth boys, who stole the show by notching up terrific wins over Sanmay and Noel, both for the first time in his career, that took sheen off YMCA’s triumph.
But to Nishaad’s dismay, his teammates, Harsh Maniar and Rhys Albuquerque failed to provide adequate support. First Sanmay outplayed Harsh in the opening tie and then Rhys fumbled from the verge of victory against Paresh Murekar in the third tie.

However, in the do-or-die decider, Noel proved too willy for Harsh as he beat him 3-1 to clinch the first division honours.  Kandivali Recreation Club bagged the second division title. Trailing 1-2, KRC turned the tables on Gomantak ‘B’ 3-2 with Tejas Naik, Anil Rasam and captain Amit Modi each contributing a win in their triumph.

Unbeaten Mulund Gymkhana kept their hold  on the women’s trophy with another cakewalk (3-0) win over Santacruz Gymkhana outfit,while  Khar Gymkhana’s junior brigade of Srushti Halengadi and Aditi Sinha who, too beat Santacruz Gymkhana earlier, emerged runners-up.

Men: (I Div): Andheri YMCA  bt 3-2: Sanmay Paranjpe bt Harsh Maniar 12-10, 11-6, 8-11, 11-9; Noel Pinto lost to Nishaad Shah 8-11, 17-15, 7-11, 11-4, 11-13;Paresh Murekar  bt Rhys Albuquerque 5-11, 11-7,8-11, 11-7, 11-6; Sanmay Paranjpe lost to Nishaad Shah 11-8, 4-11, 14-16, 11-6, 5-11; Noel Pinto bt Harsh Manair 11-7, 4-11, 11-9, 11-9.
Men (II Div.) Final:  Kandivali Recreation Club bt Gomantak ‘B’ 3-2: Amit Modi lost to Kiran Salian 9-11, 9-11, 10-12; Anil Rasam bt Sameer Bhate 11-6, 11-5, 11-8; Tejas Naik bt Rajesh Singh 10-12, 11-9, 11-7, 11-6;  Anil Rasam lost to Kiran Salian 7-11, 7-11, 12-10, 5-11; lAmit Modi bt Sameer Bhate 6-11, 11-6, 11-5, 11-5.
Women’s Div: Mulund Gym bt bt Santacruz Gym ‘A’ 3-0: Priti Mokashi bt Akashi Sancheti 11-4, 11-3, 11-8; Charvi Kawle bt Neeha Gupta 11-6, 11-7, 11-6; Priti/Charvi bt Divya Deshpande/Akshi 8-11, 9-11, 11-8, 11-8, 11-7.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal