Pearl, Sampada go down fighting, Kotiyan stretched

Mumbai : Pearl Amalsadiwala and Sampada Bhiwandkar went down fighting in the cadet and sub junior girls quarter-finals, respectively, in the 5 Star Mumbai Suburban District Table Tennis Championship, at the Goregaon Sports Club on Tuesday.

Amalsadiwala lost a tight cadet contest while giving top seed Tia D’Souza a scare after dropping the opening game over extra points and the second by a whisker. Bhiwandkar frittered away an envious 2-1 lead before losing to Pranjal Shinde 6-11, 11-8, 11-8, 4-11, 9-11 in a sub junior thriller that ended in a nail-biting decider. Bhiwandkar made amends by advancing to the cadet semi-finals along with second seed Avril Saldanha and Paridhi Potnis.

In another exciting sub junior girls quarter-finals, diminutive Mihika Rohera of Jamnabai Narsee overcame formidable school mate Vidhi Shah 11-8, 10-12, 11-9, 11-8 in a tight contest that ended in four close games.

Youth boys top seed Ravindra Kotiyan kicked off his campaign with an untidy 11-13, 11-5, 11-7, 11-5, 14-12 win against Shaunak Pawar to progress to the quarter-finals. Top seed Noel Pinto advanced to the men’s pre-quarter-finals along with Aman Balgu, Nishant Kulkarni and Eric Fernandes.


Cadet girls (Quarter-finals): 1-Tia D’Souza bt Pearl Amalsadiwala 12-10, 11-9, 11-1; Paridhi Potnis bt Hiya Mehta 11-8, 11-8, 4-11, 11-8; Sampada Bhiwandkar bt Shuchi Phansalkar 11-5, 11-1, 11-3; 2-Avril Saldanha bt Pooja Shah 11-0, 11-7, 11-4.

Sub jr. girls (Quarter-finals): 1-Manushree Patil bt Avril Saldanha 11-9, 11-5, 11-5; Pranjal Shinde bt Sampada Bhiwandkar 11-6, 8-11, 8-11, 11-4, 11-9; Mihika Rohera bt Vidhi Shah 11-8, 10-12, 11-9, 11-8; 2-Aditi Sinha bt Sheefa Shaikh 11-8, 11-3, 11-8.

 Youth boys (Pre-quarter-finals): 1-Ravindra Kotiyan bt Shaunak Pawar 11-13, 11-5, 11-7, 11-5, 14-12; Rutwik Pandirkar bt Shyam Purohit 11-8, 11-9, 9-11, 11-6, 11-7; Hardi Panchal bt Yash Rane 11-5, 11-8, 11-4, 11-3; Bhavitavya Shah bt Hrishikesh Malhotra 11-9, 11-6, 9-11, 11-7, 11-6; Rishabh Sawant bt Anirudh Murali 11-2, 11-7, 11-6; Siddharth Birje bt Viran Acharya 11-4, 11-6, 11-8, 11-8; Mandar Hardikar bt Krish Kalrani 11-7, 11-4, 6-11, 11-6, 11-5.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal