Pankaj, Sangeeta, Shobha, Manu emerge champions

Mumbai :  Former state Champion Pankaj Pawar, Sangeeta Chandorkar, Shobha Kamat and Manu Baria won the men, women, veteran women and veteran men singles event in the 50th Aamdar Kshitij Thakur Chashak Maharashtra State and Inter District Carrom Championship 2014 organised by Vasai Taluka Kala Krida Vikas Mandal as part of Sliver Jubilee Celebration Year of Vasai Taluka Kala Krida Mahotsav under the auspices of Thane District Carrom Association and Maharashtra Carrom Association in Nalasopara.

Mumbai’s Sandeep Deorukhkar former Asain and National Champion crashed at the final hurdle losing to Mumbai’s Pankaj Pawar former state champion in the final. The fourth seeded Pawar rose to the challenge with a confident performance to record an upset victory against the former Asian and National champion Sandeep Deorukhkar of Mumbai in a tense encounter.

Pawar showed steely nerves and solid concentration to upstage his fancied opponent Deorukhkar in a thrilling three game encounter 25-16, 16-25, 25-14.

Earlier in the semi-final Sandeep Deorukhkar toppled top ranked state champion Prakash Gaikwad of Pune 25-7, 25-7 in straight games. In another semi-final match Former state champion Pankaj Pawar of Mumbai overcame Ganesh Taware of Pune in a thrilling three encounter 25-12, 8-25, 25-7. In the third place match Ganesh Taware of Pune prevailed over city mate state champion Prakash Gaikwad 25-10, 20-25, 25-23.

In the Women singles final former National and State champion Sangeeta Chandorkar of RBI prevailed over upcoming Maitreyee Gogte of Mumbai 16-25, 25-20, 25-17 in a thrilling three game encounter.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal