Appeals against rejection of nomination for MCA polls

Mumbai: In a last bid to see himself at the helm of Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA), BJP leader Gopinath Munde on Thursday, filed an appeal against the rejection of his candidature to contest Mumbai cricketing body’s biennial election scheduled for October 18.

Munde’s application was rejected on Saturday by the election officer on the basis of the residential criteria.  According to MCA rules, only a Mumbai resident can become a governing member of the cricketing body. Though Munde’s passport and power bills submitted shows Mumbai’s residence address, the electoral registration on voters ID shows Beed as his residence.

Interestingly, according to reliable sources despite this rule existing in the past too, NCP leader and former ICC President Sharad Pawar as a well as late Congress leader Vilasrao Deshmukh too had residential addresses outside Mumbai but nobody took note of it. Until, former cricketer Dilip Vengsarkar group raised objection to Pawar re-contesting the MCA election, when the matter of his dual residence came into light.

Sources further stated that Munde’s case is similar to that of the Deshmukh who became MCA President succeeding Pawar after an objection was raised against his candidature by a member who later withdrew it. Munde is allowed to send a representative at the hearing on his appeal, which begins at 3:00 pm today and is to be presided over by the election officer in the presence of outgoing president Ravi Savant. If Munde’s appeal is rejected, then Pawar will be on the MCA’s hot-seat as he will be the sole candidate left in the fray for the top post.
Meanwhile, after the end of last day for withdrawals on Tuesday, there were three contestants for two vice-presidents’ posts — Savant, who is leading one group, incumbent Vijay Patil, who has fielded his own panel, and Pankaj Thakur, from the third group led by former vice-president Ratnakar Shetty.

There were four for the two Joint Secretaries’ posts — incumbents P V Shetty and Nitin Dalal (from Savant’s group), Unmesh Khanwilkar (Vijay Patil group) and Pravin Barve (Shetty’s panel).  The treasurer’s post would see a straight fight between Mayank Khandwala, the incumbent who is part of Vijay Patil-led panel, and Vinod Deshpande, from Savant’s group.

There are as many as 30 contestants to fill up the 11-strong managing committee minus the office bearers. The list of candidates includes two former Test cricketers — Lalchand Rajput and Abey Kuruvilla — both of them part of the Patil group. Also in fray are two former Mumbai Ranji Trophy players — Sanjay Patil and Atul Ranade.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal