KVB claim Darryl Crasto Trophy

Mumbai: Kalina Village Boys (KVB) produced a great show to claim the Late Darryl Crasto Memorial Trophy for Men in the Catholic Gymkhana’s annual rink football tournament, played at the gymkhana’s floodlit grounds, Marine Drive.

KVB claim Darryl Crasto Trophy

In an absorbing and keenly contested final, the Kalina side defeated Joga Bonita by a 2-0 margin to emerge champions. Prolific scorer Agnelo Picardo once spearhead the attack and scored the opening goal before skipper Sheldon Sharma blasted in the second with a rasping left-footer.

Chief Guest Ivan Crasto, Sports Editor, Rediff.com presented the Late Darryl Crasto Memorial Trophy and a cash award of Rs 20,000 to the victorious Kalina Village Boys players.Earlier the men’s veterans final for the Late Neville D’Souza Memorial Trophy witnessed another exciting and lively affair with Golden Gunners rallying strongly to overcome a spirited ABC Malad by a close 3-2 margin.

Former Maharashtra striker Tauseef Jamal netted a brace and Phillip Gonsalves one for the Gunners, while another state player Ryan D’Souza struck both the goals for the Malad outfit.Meanwhile, in the women’s final for the Late Dereyk DeSouza Memorial Trophy, Sea View SC got the better of Bandra Packers 4-3 in a seven goals thriller.

Women’s finals: Sea View SC 4 (Hema Fernandes, Lian Mathews, Neha Ture, Jennifer Peters) beat Bandra Packers (Kushboo Rathod, Shreeya Yadav, Tracy Gonsalves). Men Open – (finals): Kalina Village Boys 2 (Agnello Picardo, Sheldon Sharma) beat Joga Bonita 0. Men veteran’s finals: Golden Gunners 4 (Tauseef Jamal 2, Philip Gonsalves) beat ABC Malad 2 (Ryan D’Souza 2).

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal