Bangalore: Karnataka inflicted a crushing six-wicket defeat on Andhra Pradesh in the south zone leg ofthe Vijay Hazare Trophy here today.

An all-round performance ensured an easy victory for Karnataka as their batsmen and bowlers fired in unison to force Andhra concede the match easily at the Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Andhra, sent into bat, were bundled out for 97, thanks to inspired bowling from captain Vinay Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun and Manish Pandey.

Karnataka, in reply, reached the target after losing their four top batsmen, including openers Robin Uthappa and Lokesh Rahul.

Uthappa tore apart the Andhra attack by scripting a quick 54 runs off 69 balls with seven boundaries and one six.

His partner Rahul (21), in contrast, played a sedate innings.

After Uthappa and Rahul put on an 81-run opening stand in just 17 overs, Karnataka seamed set for an easy win but subsequently lost two more wickets on the same score in the form of Uthappa and Pandey (0).

Satish Ganesh was the fourth batsman to get out.

K Harish and B Sudhakar bagged two wickets each for the visitors.

Earlier, Vinay returned figures of three for nine and Pandey, who brought some variety into the bowling, ended with three for 25.

Mithun bagged two prized wickets after conceding 31 runs in seven overs. Ronit More and Abrar Kazi scalped one wicket apiece.

Andhra were tottering at 46 for five inside 12 overs after Vinay and Mithun removed K S Bharat (25), A D Pradeep (0), D B Prashanth Kumar (0) and B A Sumanth (6).

In another match, Tamil Nadu defeated Goa by seven wickets with the help of a half century by Murali Vijay.

Choosing to bat, Goa were all out for 122 all out in 36.2 overs with H H Gadekar (26) being the top scorer for the team. In reply, Tamil Nadu cruised after Vijay (66 not out) and Babu Apparajith (18) put on 60 runs for the second wicket.

In another match, Hyderabad won defeated Kerala by nine wickets after they chased down a small target of 108.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal