MIG Cricket Club and Goregaon Sports Club teams
MIG Cricket Club and Goregaon Sports Club teams

Mumbai: MIG Cricket Club and Goregaon Sports Club teams emerged champions winning the Team Championship Elite and Plate Division titles respectively in the 27th , organized and hosted by Bombay Gymkhana and Badminton 45, under the aegis of GMBA & MBA and played at the Bombay Gymkhana courts. The event is supported by Aditya Birla Capital and promoted by Badminton Gurukul.

In the Elite Division final, MIG CC staved off a strong challenge from hosts Bombay Gymkhana and snatched a satisfying 2-1 victory.

In contrast, Goregaon Sports Club enjoyed a much relaxed outing and outplayed Willingdon Sports Club by charging to a quick 2-0 win.

In the first rubber, the Goragaon pair of Mandar Ranade and Rajesh Bhanushali easily defeated Manish M. and Jaideep G. 21-8, 21-17 to take the lead. Later, captain Sanjeev Mahajan along with partner George Koshy stormed past the Willingdon duo of Govind P. and Anand V. winning in two quick games at 21-9, 21-17 to complete the Goregaon Club’s maiden success.

Results (all finals)

Team championship: Elite Category: MIG Cricket Club bt Bombay Gymkhana 'A' 2-1 (Mayur Tawde / Yogesh Padukone bt Amol Shah / Gautam Lad 15-21, 25-23, 21-13; Ajit Nair / Prashant Bahattare lost to Ayaz Bilawala / Shailesh Daga 10-21, 23-21, 17-21; Ajeet Phatak / Jitesh Padukone bt Aditya Khansaheb / Naval Bir Kumar 21-16, 21-18).

Plate Category: Goregaon Sports Club bt Willingdon Catholic Gymkhana 2-0 (Mandar Ranade / Rajesh Bhanushali bt Manish M / Jaideep G 21-8, 21-17; George Koshy / Sanjeev Mahajan bt Govind P. / Anand V. 21-9, 21-17).

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal