Coimbatore : Two-time APRC champion Gaurav Gill began the 2017 FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship on a dominant note, winning Round 1 with consummate ease here on Sunday.

The 35-year-old ace rallyist and co-driver Musa Sherif, who were fourth off the blocks, stormed into the lead in the first stage itself. Gill tackled the gravel road with all its twists and turns in his typical aggressive way to round it up in just 12 minutes and 11 seconds, a full 18 seconds ahead of the 24-car field. Driving for Team Mahindra in an XUV 500, Delhi’s Gill showed his class and gumption in the remaining four stages too, sweeping each of them in style. He kept increasing his lead by a minimum of 20 seconds in each stage to finish the 70-odd kms in one hour and thirty-six seconds, almost in a canter.

Defending INRC champion Karna Kadur and Nikhil Pai (Arka Motorsports) from Bengaluru finished one minute forty-five seconds behind to take the second position.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal