Mitchell Santner
Mitchell Santner
File Photo

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and New Zealand Cricket (NZC) on Tuesday evening announced their respective 15-member squads for the World Test Championship (WTC) final starting June 18.

India and New Zealand both had travelled to England with a 20-man extended squads. While Virat Kohli will lead the team against New Zealand in Southampton, Ajinkya Rahane will serve as his vice-captain. For New Zealand, Kane Williamson makes a comeback as captain after missing out second Test match against England due to elbow injury.

While the annonced squad does not surprise many, India's management have taken a decisive call by leaving out KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur and Washington Sundar.

Meanwhile, New Zealand have left out their key spinner Mitchell Santner along with Doug Bracewell, Jacob Duffy, Daryl Mitchell and Rachin Ravindra.

India's squad for WTC final: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, and Mohammad Siraj

New Zealand squad for WTC final: Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper), Will Young.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal