file photo taken on November 23, 2019
file photo taken on November 23, 2019
Photo by AFP

Virat Kohli has captained India for a record-breaking 61st time after India took the field to face New Zealand in the World Test Championship final being played in Southampton.

Former skipper MS Dhoni captained India in a then-record 60 Test matches. Behind him are Sri Lanka's Arjuna Ranatunga and Pakistan's Misbah-ul-Haq with 56 Tests each as captain. Clive Llyod has the most appearance in Tests as a captain with 109 games.

Kohli also boasts the best win-rate (36/60) of any man to captain India on more than five occasions.

Kohli also became the first player in world cricket to feature in ICC tournament finals in all three formats.

He appeared in the 2011 50-over World Cup final where India had defeated Sri Lanka in Mumbai to claim their second trophy. Three years later, Sri Lanka had avenged their defeat to India with a victory in the World T20 final which featured Kohli in the Indian side. He completes the record with his appearance in the WTC final.

India have opted to play three pace bowlers and one specialist spinner against New Zealand as they bid to become the world champions in Test cricket.

Meanwhile, New Zealand have won the toss and opted to field first. Team India has opted for two spinners in the game, whereas looking at overcast conditions, New Zealand has not included any spinners it the all important final.

New Zealand line-up

Tom Latham - Wicketkeeper batter

Devon Conway - Top order batter

Kane Williamson (c) - Top order batter

Ross Taylor - Middle order batter

Henry Nicholls - Top order batter

BJ Watling † - Wicketkeeper batter

Colin de Grandhomme - Allrounder

Tim Southee – Medium pace bowler

Kyle Jamieson – Fast Medium pace bowler

Neil Wagner – Fast bowler

Trent Boult – Fast bowler

India line-up

Rohit Sharma - Top order batter

Shubman Gill - Opening batter

Cheteshwar Pujara - Top order batter

Virat Kohli (c) - Top order batter

Ajinkya Rahane - Top order batter

Rishabh Pant † Wicketkeeper batter

Ravindra Jadeja – Spin bowling allrounder

Ravichandran Ashwin – Spin bowling allrounder

Ishant Sharma - medium fast bowler

Mohammed Shami – Medium fast bowler

Jasprit Bumrah - Fast bowler

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal