Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

Southampton, June 19: Indian captain Virat Kohli was engaged in an intense debate with the on-field umpire Richard Illingworth after the official decided to refer the decision to the third umpire on a caught-behind appeal by Trent Boult, despite New Zealand failing to ask for a review within a 15-second time limit.

Boult and the New Zealand players appealed for a caught-behind against Kohli, but the umpire initially called it not out. Even as Boult persisted with the appeal, NZ captain Kane Williamson was hesitant to take the DRS before the time-limit was exhausted.

Despite the indecision from New Zealand captain, Illingworth decided to go upstairs to check the appeal, prompting Kohli to question the umpire.

There remained some confusion before it was confirmed that it was an umpire review, and New Zealand won't be deducted of a review.

Kohli objected that the review should have only to check if the ball carried through to the keeper. However, the third umpire also checked to see if Kohli had edged the ball.

The Indian captain was eventually adjudged not out.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal