bangladesh vs india
bangladesh vs india

India will lock horns with Bangladesh at the ongoing ICC Men's Cricket World Cup in their penultimate game of group stage today at Edgbaston, Birmingham. The Indian side will look to win and seal their semi-finals berth.

India's unbeaten streak in the tournament was broken by England in their last match as they defeated them by 31 runs. India is currently at the second position of the teams standing with 11 points in seven matches. The Men in Blue have to win at least one match to get to the knock out stage. The two-time World Champions displayed a team spirit in the World Cup so far, where every player showcased their skills and class. Rohit Sharma is in great form in the World Cup as he has 440 runs in six innings so far. He is the only batsman to score three centuries in the tournament and also the highest run-getter for Men in Blue. India skipper Virat Kohli is displaying a magnificent form in this edition of the quadrennial tournament. Kohli has smashed five consecutive half-centuries and has amassed 382 runs until now.

On the other hand, Bangladesh have won three matches out of their seven games and stands at the seventh spot. It is a must-win game for Bangladesh to keep their hopes alive for the semi-final berth. They have a rare chance to qualify for the semis. If they win their fixtures against India and Pakistan, they will hold eleven points and have to hope for England and Pakistan defeat in their next games. Shakib Al Hasan moved to the top in the ICC ODI rankings for all-rounders last month. The 32-year-old has been in sensational form in this World Cup as he is the third highest run-scorer with 476 runs in the tournament so far. Shakib is a vital member of the Bangladeshi side. Apart from his batting, he also bagged five wickets.

Probable XI

India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav/Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav/Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mustafizur Rahman

Dream 11: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Mahmudullah, Mohammed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mashrafe Mortaza

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal