Virat Kohli, cricketer of the year

Mumbai : Former stumper Syed Kirmani was bestowed with the prestigious Col. CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution to Indian cricket, while Test captain Virat Kohli bagged the Polly Umrigar Trophy for Cricketer of the Year in the BCCI awards night. The 66-year-old former India cricketer and member of the 1983

Virat Kohli, cricketer of the year

World Cup-winning squad was presented the award by BCCI president president Shashank Manohar at the Cricket Board’s annual awards (2014-15 season) ceremony. The coveted Polly Umrigar award was also handed over to Kohli by Manohar. Kirmani, who was also given the award of citation, trophy and Rs 25 lakh, took a mild dig at modern wicketkeepers when asked about the difference from his time to the present day.

“These days it’s not about wicket keeping techniques but just about producing results. Dhoni has been able to do it,” he said before praising the limited overs skipper, who was in the audience and grinning: “Good job, Dhoni.” “The only thing in my mind when playing was to do well and keep the tri colour flying. I thank the BCCI for honouring me with the C K Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award.” Kohli said that the greatest moment of his career so far is the Test series in Australia, which India lost 0-2, but not before giving a tough fight to the hosts. “It is important to start the year well and we were able to do so in Australia. I compliment the entire team. It was the greatest moment of my career so far and would probably remain so,” he said. Referring to the great chase the team made in Adelaide before falling short narrowly, Kohli said, “Some days you bat like a man possessed. All I had in my head was the target of 367,” he said.

Complete list

Best all-rounder in 2014-15: Jalaj Saxena.

Best all-rounder in domestic limited-overs competitions, 2014-15: Deepak Hooda.

Highest run-getter in Ranji 2014-2015: Robin Uthappa.

Highest wicket-takers: R Vinaykumar.

Best under-23 cricketer: Almas Shaukat

Best under-19 cricketer: Anmolpreet Singh

Best under-16 cricketer: Shubman Gill

Best senior woman cricketer: Mithali Raj

Best junior woman cricketer: Devika Vaidya

Best umpire in domestic cricket in 2014-15: O Nandan.

Best overall performance in 2014-15: Karnataka State Cricket Association – 14 points.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal