This day that year: India won their maiden Cricket World Cup title in 1983
This day that year: India won their maiden Cricket World Cup title in 1983

On June 25, 1983, a Kapil Dev-led India lifted their maiden Cricket World Cup by defeating West Indies in the finals by 43 runs at the Lord's Cricket Ground.

Today, it has been 37 years since India's triumph in the tournament.

After the win, cricket got a fillip in the country, elevating the sport to religion for fans with every child wanting to become a cricketer.

India's 43-run win is engraved in the hearts and minds of every cricket follower in the country and on Friday, Indian cricketers took to social media to recall that historic day.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) uploaded a photo of then skipper Kapil Dev receiving the trophy and their tweet read: "#OnThisDay in 1983 Lord's - history created. #TeamIndia led by @therealkapildev won the World Cup after beating the mighty West Indies. #TeamIndia."

Current head coach and member of 1983 World Cup winning team Ravi Shastri wrote on Twitter: "#ThisDayThatYear on 25th June in 1983, we believed and we became - World Champions and changed the face of #cricket in #India once and for all. @therealkapildev @icc @cricketworldcup."

Former all-rounder and member of India's 2011 World Cup winning team Yuvraj Singh tweeted: "A moment of national pride, our seniors lifted the 1983 Cricket World Cup on this day. Congratulations to every member of the 1983 team. You set the benchmark for us to achieve the same in 2011. Look forward to India becoming a world champion in all sports."

Former Test great V.V.S. Laxman wrote on Twitter: "37 years today since the historic day at Lord's when Kapil Paaji lifted the 1983 World Cup. As a 9 year old, it inspired me to dream big and enhanced my love for the game. Incredible day which inspired the whole generation. Thank you Team 83."

Former cricketer Mohammad Kaif, who himself wrote history at Lord's in 2002, tweeted: "June 25 1983: The iconic image of Kapil Dev holding the World Cup Trophy at Lord's is a watershed moment in Indian cricket history. It changed cricket in India. This win inspired the next generation to achieve the impossible and dream big."

India's World Cup final playing XI included Sunil Gavaskar, K Srikkanth, Mohinder Amarnath, Yashpal Sharma, SM Patil, Kapil Dev (c), Kirti Azad, Roger Binny, Madan Lal, Syed Kirmani, and Balwinder Sandhu

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal