Updated on: Friday, October 22, 2021, 03:08 PM IST

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021: Akshay Wadkar to lead Vidarbha; Umesh Yadav part of 20-member squad

Umesh Yadav will lead the Vidarbha bowling attack in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy
Akshay Wadkar of Vidarbha. | Photo: PTI

Akshay Wadkar of Vidarbha. | Photo: PTI


Wicketkeeper batsman Akshay Wadkar will lead a 20-member Vidarbha squad, which includes senior India pacer Umesh Yadav, in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, starting on November 4. Siddhesh Wath has been named Wadkar's deputy.

The Vidarbha Cricket Association has posted the squad on its website.

Yadav, who will lead the pace attack, has represented India in 49 Tests and 75 ODIs and has 98 First-Class matches under his belt.

Other pacers in the team include right-armer Darshan Nalkande and 22-year-old fast bowler Yash Thakur.

Vidarbha selectors have also included batting mainstays in Ganesh Satish and opener R Sanjay, who has been impressive in the previous seasons.

Experienced off-spinner Akshay Wakhare has also been named in the side.

Vidarbha, who are placed in the Plate Group, will be playing all their league matches in Vijayawada.

Squad: Akshay Wadkar (c), Siddhesh Wath (vc), Atharva Taide, R Sanjay, Ganesh Satish, Yash Rathod, Jitesh Sharma, Apoorva Wankhede, Shubham Dubey, Akshay Karnewar, Akshay Wakhare, Harsh Dubey, Parth Rekhade, Ganesh Bhosale, Darshan Nalkande, Yash Thakur, Siddesh Neral, Aditya Thakre, Sooraj Rai, Umesh Yadav. Coach: Pritam Gandhe.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Published on: Friday, October 22, 2021, 03:08 PM IST