Updated on: Sunday, January 02, 2022, 07:21 PM IST

SA vs IND: Marco Jansen receives maiden ODI call-up; Temba Bavuma to lead 17-member South Africa squad

Temba Bavuma of South Africa drops Andre Russell of West Indies | AFP

Temba Bavuma of South Africa drops Andre Russell of West Indies | AFP


Left-arm seamer, Marco Jansen has received his first call-up to South Africa's ODI squad, while Anrich Nortje has been ruled out of the series after not recovering sufficiently from his hip injury and is continuing with his rehabilitation, Cricket South Africa announced on Sunday.

Temba Bavuma will lead the 17-member squad with Keshav Maharaj as his deputy.

Wayne Parnell and Zubayr Hamza are retained from the Netherlands ODI tour while Dwaine Pretorius makes a welcome return in the all-rounder arsenal alongside Andile Phehlukwayo and Parnell.

“This is a very exciting group and the Selection Panel and I are eager to see what they will produce," said CSA Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang.

“For many of our players, it does not get bigger than playing against this powerhouse Indian team and this will be the biggest series of their young lives so far.

“We are looking forward to seeing what they bring to the table and wish Temba (Bavuma) and Mark (Boucher) all the best for the series.”

The ODI series starts on January 19.

Squad: Temba Bavuma (c), Keshav Maharaj (vc), Quinton de Kock (wk), Zubayr Hamza, Marco Jansen, Janneman Malan, Sisanda Magala, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Published on: Sunday, January 02, 2022, 07:21 PM IST