(L-R) Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane and Virat Kohli
(L-R) Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane and Virat Kohli
File pic

After dominating the world in the longest format of the game for two years, King Kohli's men were defeated in yet another ICC tournament final on Wednesday.

Chasing a paltry 139-run target to win the marquee event, skipper Kane Williamson and senior batsman Ross Taylor stitched together a brilliant partnership, which was also aided by a couple of drop catches, and took the trophy home.

Eventually, Indian fans were not pleased after yet another defeat on the big stage and demanded a change in captaincy. A plethora of fans demanded that Hitman Rohit Sharma, who has been the most successful captain in the IPL, should be made the skipper of the side.

Starting the day at 2/64 and just 32 runs ahead, India needed its two most experienced campaigners in Virat Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara to play out a majority of the 1st session. However, India was bundled out for just 170.

Moreover, after losing the openers early in the innings, the experienced duo of Ross Taylor and Kane Williamson ensured that there were no last-minute twists as New Zealand centered to an eight-wicket-win to win the inaugural ICC World Test Championship.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal