Pace attack to counter India

Sydney : Australia on Monday packed its attack with fast bowlers and ignored spinner Nathan Lyon along with all-rounder Shane Watson while announcing a 13-man squad for the first three cricket One-day internationals against India. The selection panel reasoned that pitches in Perth, Melbourne and Sydney would assist quick bowlers so there was no need for a specialist spinner at least for the first three ODIs of the five-match series.

The selectors named uncapped left-arm paceman Joel Paris, who has the ability to swing the ball well, and Scott Boland while Kane Richardson also returned to the side having last played for Australia against South Africa in Canberra in 2014. Injuries to front-line fast bowlers Mitchell Starc, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Peter Siddle paved the way for Boland and Paris’ inclusion in the squad. There was no place in the squad for Watson, Joe Burns and James Pattinson. Chairman of selectors Rod Marsh said both Scott and Paris deserved to be in the squad. Selector Trevor Hohns said Lyon will be considered for future matches and in his absence Glenn Maxwell will provide the spin option.

“Nathan is not far out of the picture for one-day cricket, and of course with the (World) T20 coming up it’s probably ideal for him to go back and play some of those games,” Hohns said.”We’re playing the first few games in Brisbane and Perth where normally you play with your faster bowlers. Glenn Maxwell has done a pretty good job in the spinning role when we’re only playing that one type of spinner-cum-all-rounder, plus the quicks.” India will play five ODIs against India starting in Perth (January 12) and followed by matches in Brisbane (January 15), Melbourne (January 17), Canberra (January 20) and Sydney (January 23). The ODI series will be followed by a three-match Twenty20 series. This opener will be first match between India and Australia after the WC semis.

Australia Squad

Steve Smith (C), David Warner, George Bailey, Scott Boland, Josh Hazlewood, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Joel Paris and Matthew Wade.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal