Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals LIVE: Score, Commentary for the 20th match of Dream11 IPL
Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals LIVE: Score, Commentary for the 20th match of Dream11 IPL


Inaugural champions Rajasthan Royals are all set to take on four-time champions Mumbai Indians in Indian Premier League's 20th match which will take place in Abu Dhabi at Sheikh Zayed Stadium.

The Rohit Sharma-led side is in great form and are unlikely to change their lineup, whereas, Robin Uthappa's poor performance has been a concern for Steve Smith's Rajasthan and the skipper might look at Yashasvi Jaiswal to replace the veteran until Ben Stokes, who is currently completing his quarantine period, is available.

Since 2018, Rajasthan has managed to defeat Mumbai on all four occasions. But, this year things could be different. Rajasthan pacers have taken just one wicket in the powerplay overs of IPL 20, fewest among all other teams.

Mumbai, on the other hand, have the best record with the bat (12.92/over) and ball (9.99/over) in the death overs of their IPL 20 stint.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma(C), Quinton de Kock(Wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah, Saurabh Tiwary, Chris Lynn, Dhawal Kulkarni, Aditya Tare, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jayant Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Mohsin Khan, Sherfane Rutherford, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai

Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler(Wk), Steven Smith(C), Sanju Samson, Robin Uthappa, Riyan Parag, Mahipal Lomror, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Tom Curran, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat, David Miller, Varun Aaron, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ankit Rajpoot, Manan Vohra, Andrew Tye, Oshane Thomas, Mayank Markande, Aniruddha Joshi, Shashank Singh, Anuj Rawat, Kartik Tyagi, Akash Singh

Starting XI Prediction:

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock (Wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah

Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler (Wk), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson, Steve Smith (C), Riyan Parag. Mahipal Lomror, Tom Curran, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Varun Aaron

Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals Dream11 Picks:

Rohit Sharma (C), Quinton de Kock (Wk), Ishan Kishan, Steve Smith, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Rahul Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Jofra Archer

Toss: Mumbai Indians win the toss, opt to bat first

Starting XI:

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma(C), Quinton de Kock(Wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, James Pattinson, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Jasprit Bumrah

Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler(Wk), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Steven Smith(C), Sanju Samson, Mahipal Lomror, Rahul Tewatia, Tom Curran, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Ankit Rajpoot, Kartik Tyagi

The game begins!

Quinton de Kock and Rohit Sharma are at the crease. de Kock is on strike. Ankit Rajpoot will open the attack for Rajasthan Royals.

Score after 5 overs: MI (50-1)

Both de Kock and Sharma were firing boundaries before the former was dismissed. Suryakumar Yadav is now at the crease with the skipper. Having already completed the half-century mark on a ground like Abu Dhabi, Mumbai could go on to set a hefty target for Smith and Co.

Score after 10 overs: MI (93-3)

Rajasthan pick two more wickets - Sharma and Ishan Kishan. The skipper's brief stint at the crease saw him score 35 runs off 23 balls. Kishan, however, went back on duck after an unnecessary shit on the first ball. Rajasthan's Shreyas Gopal was on a hattrick after dismissing Sharma and Kishan, but batsman Suryakumar Yadav made sure that did not happen.

Yadav and Krunal Pandya are at the crease.

Score after 15 overs: MI (125-4)

Krunal Pandya has also been dismissed, making way for his brother Hardik. Mumbai is the most deadliest in death overs. With Yadav in form, and Kieron Pollard yet to bat, the Paltan is slated to set a respectable target in Abu Dhabi.

Score after 20 overs: MI (193-4), RR needs 194 to win

Before this game Suryakumar Yadav was yet to make a mark in the IPL 2020. Now, the batsman played a brilliant knock of 79 runs in 47 balls scripting as many as 11 4s and two 6s.

A total of 68 runs were scored in the death overs. Mumbai remain the most deadly team in death overs. However, Pollard did not get the chance to bat.

Now, it will be Mumbai's bowling prowess to contain Rajasthan batsmen which includes U-19 World Cup fame Yashasvi Jaiswal who only featured in the first game for Rajasthan.

The chase begins!

Yashasvi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler are at the crease. Jaiswal is on strike. Boult will open the attack for MI.

Score after 5 overs: RR (23-3)

A horrible start for Rajasthan Royals. Out of the three wickets, it was Yashasvi Jaiswal and Sanju Samson who went away on duck. Skipper Steven Smith has also been dismissed. Excellent job from Mumbai bowlers to contain the batsmen. The victory for Mumbai looks closer than ever, unless the remaining batsmen - Jos Buttler, Mahipal Lomror turn the tables.

Mumbai should also be aware of Rahul Tewatia. His heroics cannot be forgotten.

Score after 10 overs: RR (63-4)

Another wicket down as Rahul Chahar dismisses Lomror. Due credit should be given to substitute fielder Anukul Roy who took a stunning catch.

Things are looking bad for Rajasthan although Buttler is still at the crease with Tewatia yet to bat.

Score after 15 overs: RR (113-6)

Buttler almost scripted a furious comeback but was stopped by an imbalanced Pollard who took a brilliant catch on the edge of the field.

It is as good as over for Rajasthan at this stage.

Mumbai Indians defeat Rajasthan Royals by 57 runs!

Mumbai Indians (MI) on Tuesday beat Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 57 runs at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium. Suryakumar Yadav (79 not out) and Jasprit Bumrah (4/20) starred with bat and ball as MI scored 193/4 wkts in 20 overs and then dismissed RR for 136 in 18.1 overs.

Trent Boult struck with the second ball of the RR innings, swinging the ball away from Yashasvi Jaiswal and getting a nick off him as it flew to wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock. Bumrah then dismissed RR captain Steve Smith for six and Boult then sent back the dangerous Sanju Samson for a duck to reduce MI to 12/3 in the third over.

Mahipal Lomror and Jos Buttler then ensured that RR lost no more wickets in the powerplay. But the former was dismissed in the ninth over, thanks to a screamer of a catch from substitute fielder Anukul Roy.

Jos Buttler kept RR in the chase before he departed for another stunning catch, this time by Kieron Pollard in the 14th over. RR were 98/5 at the time and they crumbled in the next four overs.

Earlier, 30-year-old Suryakumar Yadav hit 11 fours and two sixes, one of which was off Jofra Archer after he was hit in the head by a bouncer off the previous delivery by the English bowler. He smashed 76 runs in just 38 balls to propel MI close to the 200-run mark.

Brief scores: MI 193/4 wkts in 20 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 79 not out, Rohit Sharma 35; Shreyas Gopal 2/28) beat RR 136 all out in 18.1 overs (Jos Buttler 70, Jofra Archer 24; Jasprit Bumrah 4/20) by 57 runs


(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal