After India’s spectacular victory over Australia by 6 wickets in the 2nd ODI at Adelaide, a video has emerged on internet claiming that Dhoni took a short-run during the match which went unnoticed by the umpire. In the video, Dhoni is seen running towards the non-striker’s end after hitting a shot towards long-off, but fails to put his bat into the crease before going for a chat with Dinesh Karthik. Have a look at the video below.
The incident happened during the 45th over of the game which was bowled by Nathan Lyon. Dhoni played a shot to long-off on the last ball of the over to take a single, and the video showed that Dhoni did not go inside the crease with his legs or bat, eventually falling short of the run. Dhoni went on to talk with Dinesh Karthik about final five overs of the game, when India needed 44 runs to win. Umpires seemed to have missed this mistake of Indian wicketkeeper and Australian fielders too failed to recognise it. According to cricket rules, a deliberate attempt for short runs can cost five runs to a team.