Mayanti Langer to miss IPL 2020; Star Sports announce replacements
Mayanti Langer to miss IPL 2020; Star Sports announce replacements
File Image

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 is all set to begin on Saturday in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). Unfortunately, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the tournament will be played without any spectators or cheerleaders.

In yet another disappointment for the fans, cricket presenter Mayanti Langer will be missing this year. Langer is one of the finest anchors in the country and was associated with the cash-rich league for the past two seasons. She has also covered ICC events in the past.

Star Sports, official IPL broadcasters, confirmed the news and also announced the replacements on Thursday.

Replying to a Twitter user's question, Star Sports said, "Bhavna Balakrishnan (Tamil), Reena Dsouza, Madhu Mailankody (Kannada), Neha Matcha (Telugu), Anjum Chopra, Lisa Sthalekar, Neroli Meadows (English) and Sanjana Ganesan will be the female commentators and presenters during #Dream11IPL 2020."

Suren Sundaram, Kira Narayanan, Suhail Chandhok, Nashpreet Kaur, Jatin Sapru, Tanya Purohit, Anant Tyagi and Dheeraj Juneja are the other presenters in the tournament.

"English commentators are - Sunil Gavaskar, Harsha Bhogle, Deep Dasgupta, Ian Bishop, Murali Kartik and Danny Morrison to name a few," Star Sports said in another tweet.

Muthuraman R, Radhakrishnan Sreenivasan, Bhavna Balakrishnan, K V Sathyanarayanan, Balaji Patturaja, Abhinav Mukund, S Ramesh, S Badrinath, Hemang Badani and Krishnamachari Srikkanth are the Tamil commentators.

Aakash Chopra, Irfan Pathan, Ashish Nehra, Jatin Sapru, Nikhil Chopra, Kiran More, Ajit Agarkar and Sanjay Bangar are the Hindi commentators.

M Anand Sri Krishna, Neha Matcha, Kaushik Nallan Chakravarthy, Ashish Reddy Ammana, Venkatapathi Raju, Venugopalarao Yalaka, MSK Prasad and Kalyan Krishna Doddapaneni are Telugu commentators.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal