IPL 2020: Who is Devdutt Padikkal? Check out his stats

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) fans will see Devdutt Padikkal's performance in his debut match on Monday. As the young lad plays his first match for RCB and IPL, here's a look at his career stats. Devdutt is a left-hand batsman. He was born in Edapal, Kerala but his parents moved to Hyderabad when he was young and finally settled in Bengaluru.

He started playing cricket at the age of 11.

Devdutt first came in the limelight for scoring 72 runs off 53 ball for his team Ballari Tuskers in Karnataka Premier League in 2017. It was quite an impressive match for him and for the spectators. He played for the state in U-19 matches. But unfortunately a slump in his form stalled his career for a bit.

The young lad, however, kept working harder and scored 829 runs in Cooch Behar Trophy 2018 and was the fourth highest run-getter.

For his exemplary performance, he was conferred with the best batsman award from the Karnataka State Cricket Association. He was also selected in the senior team for the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Devdutt started the 2019-20 domestic season with an impressive performance. In the first match of Vijay Hazare Trophy, he scored 58 runs against Jharkhand. He then went on to smash his maiden list A ton against Saurashtra, followed by another century in the next match against Goa.

He was the leading run-scorer with 609 runs in his hat which helped him get selected for the Deodar Trophy in India A squad.

Next up for him was the India U-19 team. He was selected for the Sri Lanka tour and he showed us show jaw-dropping performances. Now, at 19, he inked the deal with RCB for the Indian Premier League 2020.

He was selected in the RCB squad in 2019 but never really got a chance to play in the last season. He, however, shared the dressing room with the best in the game and playing with AB de Velliers, Virat Kohli is the cherry on the cake.

Sunrisers Hyderabad won the toss and opted to field in their opening IPL game against Royal Challengers Bangalore here on Monday.

The Teams:

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (c), Jonny Bairstow (wk), Manish Pandey, Vijay Shankar, Mitchell Marsh, Priyam Garg, Abhishek Sharma, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sandeep Sharma, T Natarajan.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Aaron Finch, Devdutt Padikkal, Josh Philippe (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Dale Steyn, Yuzvendra Chahal.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal