IPL 2020: Who holds Orange Cap and Purple Cap as of Sep 20, 2020?
IPL 2020: Who holds Orange Cap and Purple Cap as of Sep 20, 2020?

A brilliant all-round performance from Marcus Stoinis along with Kagiso Rabada's heroics in the Super Over helped Delhi Capitals (DC) beat Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) in the second match of IPL 2020 at the Dubai International Stadium on Sunday.

Both sides ended their respective 20 overs on 157/8 after which KXIP managed to score just two runs batting first in the Super Over. DC took only three balls to go past that total and get off to a winning start in the season.

Stoinis was the star of the day for DC as he picked two wickets off the last two balls of the match before which he smashed 53 off 21 balls to take an otherwise struggling DC past the 150-run mark.

KXIP were tottering at 55/5 at the start of the 11th over of the match after which opener Mayank Agarwal turned things around for them. Mayank scored a masterful 89 off 60 balls and his innings turned the tables to the extent that KXIP needed one run to win off the last three balls. But, he holed out at sweeper cover off the penultimate ball before Chris Jordan hit it straight to square leg.

Earlier, DC were on 127/7 at the end of the penultimate over of the innings at the Dubai International Stadium after which Stoinis smashed 26 runs off Chris Jordan in the final over. Additionally, the over included a wide and a dramatic final ball in which Stoinis was run out after taking a run but Jordan had overstepped. Anrich Nortje and Kagiso Rabada ran two runs off the free-hit to make 30 runs off the over.

Brief scores: Delhi Capitals 157/8 (Marcus Stoinis 53, Shreyas Iyer 39; Mohammed Shami 3/15) beat Kings XI Punjab 157/8 (Mayank Agarwal 89, KL Rahul 21; R Ashwin 2/2, Rabada 2/28) in Super Over

Meanwhile, Kings XI Punjab's Mayank Agarwal now holds the Orange Cap for the most number of runs, while Mohammed Shami has the Purple Cap for the most number of wickets so far.

Here are the top 5 players with most runs (Orange Cap):

1. Mayank Agarwal - 89

2. Ambati Rayudu - 71

3. Faf du Plessis - 54

4. Marcus Stoinis - 53

4. Saurabh Tiwary - 42

Here are the top 5 players with most wickets (Orange Cap):

1. Mohammed Shami - 3

2. Lungi Ngidi - 3

3. Ravichandran Ashwin - 2

4. Sheldon Cottrell - 2

5. Kagiso Rabada - 2

(With IANS inputs)

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal