IPL 2019: MI look for Capital gains

Mumbai: Usually the slow starters in the Indian Premier League (IPL), Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians will look to capitalise against a young Delhi Capitals side when they clash at the Wankhede Stadium on Sunday. The tournament for the Mumbai Indians will begin with most focus on how the World Cup-bound players manage to perform with high intensity while also keeping a check on their fitness for the following mega event in May.

The side has concerns in pace department after New Zealand pacer Adam Milne made himself unavailable for the 12th edition of the IPL due to ankle injury. Lasith Malinga will also miss few games due to international assignments and Sri Lankan domestic league in early April. With both foreign pacers missing, onus will be Jasprit Bumrah to deliver wickets for the franchise. All while keeping the workload in check.

Apart from bowling, Mumbai Indians look pretty for their season-opener. Rohit Sharma at the start with experience of Yuvraj Singh in the middle and firepower in the form of Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya later in the innings will match the quality of Delhi Capitals’ Kagiso Rabada, Trent Boult and Ishant Sharma on a balanced Wankhede wicket.

For Delhi Capitals, opener Shikhar Dhawan and wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant will look to clear doubts over their forms after poor series against Australia. The opener managed only 177 runs in five matches that includes a 143-run inning in the fourth one-day international. Rishabh Pant meanwhile will have a point to prove with gloves after missing crucial stumpings.

Led by Shreyas Iyer, and with dynamic Prithvi Shaw fresh after a long international absence, the visiting side has two Mumbai lads in their line-up raring to go. International players Colin Munro and Chris Moris will add the needed experience for the Delhi Capitals. Delhi Capitals, formerly known as Delhi Daredevils will hope the new name brings the change of fortunes for the side as they have never made into an IPL final before.

Team (from)
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jason Behrendorff, Jasprit Bumrah, Rahul Chahar, Ben Cutting, Pankaj Jaiswal, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Siddhesh Lad, Evin Lewis, Lasith Malinga, Mayank Markande, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Anukul Roy, Rasikh Salam, Yuvraj Singh, Anmolpreet Singh, Barinder Sran, Aditya Tare, Suryakumar Yadav, Jayant Yadav and Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper).

Delhi Capitals: Colin Ingram, Manjot Karla, Prithvi Shaw, Sherfane Rutherford, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Bandaru Ayyappa, Harshal Patel, Ishant Sharma, Kasigo Rabada, Nathu Singh, Sandeep Lamichhane, Trent Boult, Axar Patel, Chris Morris, Colin Munro, Hanuma Vihari, Jalaj Saxena, Keemo Paul, Rahul Tewatia, Ankush Bains and Rishabh Pant.

Match starts at 8 pm. Live on Star Sports 2/HD 8 pm onwards

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal