Mohammed Siraj hugs Rishabh Pant (C) after registering a win against Australia at The Gabba
Mohammed Siraj hugs Rishabh Pant (C) after registering a win against Australia at The Gabba

The last time Australia lost a Test match at Gabba, George H.W. Bush had just won the US Presidential election, Virat Kohli was 16 days old, and Sachin Tendulkar was still one year away from making his Test debut.

Now, it was a battered, bruised and an injury-ravaged young Indian team -- without their main skipper Virat Kohli -- that beat Australia by three wickets against all odds in the final Test of the series at The Gabba on Tuesday to take the series 2-1. With this victory, India has retained the Border-Gavaskar trophy.

The same Indian team that recorded their lowest Test total in the first match of the series in Adelaide, became the first team to beat Australia at The Gabba in over 32 years.

Chasing 328, India achieved the target in 97 overs with Rishabh 'nerves of steel' Pant remaining unbeaten on 89. Shubman Gill and Cheteshwar Pujara also scored 91 and 56 runs respectively.

West Indies were the last one to beat Australia at what is considered a fortress for the Australian team.

In all, Australia had won 40 out of the 62 games they played at the venue prior to this match, losing just eight.

Four of those losses have come against England while three came against West Indies, the last of which was in 1988. One came against New Zealand.

India have played seven matches, losing five, drawing one and winning the one in the ongoing series.

This is also the first time Australia have not won at The Gabba since 2012.

Back in November 2012, they had drawn against South Africa. Following that draw, they beat England (twice), India, New Zealand, Pakistan (twice) and Sri Lanka.

(with inputs from agencies)

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal