Poonam Yadav and Taniya Bhatia
Poonam Yadav and Taniya Bhatia
Photo: Twitter/ Cricbuzz

It's all over! India win by 17 runs. Poonam Yadav is the match winner for the Women in Blue. Keeper Taniya Bhatia, too, played a very important role in the win. India pull-off an incredible comeback to win the first match of the T20 World Cup.

Australia need 21 runs from the last over to win the match.

Isa Guha explains why Poonam Yadav's fifth wicket was not given.

While the attention has been towards Poonam Yadav's heroics, one cannot forget keeper Taniya Bhatia's contribution. She has impacted four wickets today, two stumpings and two caught behind.

What an impact the leggie has had on the match! She has very well taken India towards the brink of victory. A world-class performance in the very first match of the World Cup.

Poonam Yadav takes two wickets in two balls! Can she take a hat-trick? Nooo! The keeper drops the third wicket and with that the chance for Yadav's hat-trick.

Poonam Yadav finally removes the dangerous, all-important wicket of Alyssa Healy. She played a beatuful innings of 51 runs. This wicket will provide India with a chance to let out a sigh of relief. Ashleigh Gardner walsk in.

GONE! Aussie skipper Meg Lanning departs. Rajeshwari Gaekwad takes the very important wicket of Lanning. An outside edge straight towards the keeper. Taniya Bhatia does some excellent work behind the stumps. Rachael Haynes comes in.

Wicket! Shikha Pandey provides the breakthough for India. It is Beth Mooney who departs after scoring just six runs. This is the right moment for India to strike. Skipper Meg Lanning comes in.

AUS vs IND- AUS: 30/0 (5)

Australian opener Alyssa Healy has been the star of Australia's opening in recent times and she is proving the same against India. She has played powerful shots and has tormented the Indian bowling lineup.

What are India doing? They have wasted a review on a terrible chance! The ball had clearly pitched outside leg. Signs of desperation in the Indian squad.

Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney walk into the middle for Australia. They will hope to have a steady start and give the Indians bowlers a run for their money.

India finish at 132 at the loss of four wickets. Australia need 133 runs to win in 20 overs.

What an innings this has been from the brilliant Deepti Sharma! These 49 runs could very well be the difference between win and loss for India. After a good start, India were in deep trouble after losing three wickets on the trot. Credit goes to the duo of Jemimah Rodrigues and Deepti Sharma for bailing India out of trouble. Sharma stood her ground after Jemima's wicket and ensured India reach a respectable score.

Jemima Rodrigues departs after a well-played innings. But one must feel bad for her as it felt she would provide a fitting end to India's innings. She took a review but it was in vain as the impact was in line. Veda Krishnamurthy comes in.

AUS vs IND- IND: 95/3 (15)

Jemimah Rodrigues: 24(30)

Deepti Sharma: 24 (29)

Ashleigh Gardner: 19/0 (3)

Jemimah and Deepti are proving to be quite an hassle for the Australian bowlers now. If they continue playing this way, they could be the vital difference between win and loss for India.

AUS vs IND- IND 63/3 (10)

Jemimah Rodrigues and Deepti Sharma have held the Indian innings after a terrible batting collapse following Mandhana's wicket. The Australian bowlers have kept the visitors under check after it seemed that India would get to a big score.

India in deep trouble after skipper Harmanpreet kaur falls. Three wickets down for the Women in Blue. Hope was on her to stabilise the Indian innings, but she failed to do so. Now, Indian hopes are pegged on Jemimah Rodrigues at the moment.

Oh no! Shafali Verma departs. She looked brilliant for India after providing a bright start. Ellyse Perry provides the breakthrough for Australia. 

India use their review after umpire declares Jemimah Rodrigues as out. The review proves successful as the ball is missing the stump.

AUS vs IND- IND: 40/0 (4)

It is all Shafali Verma at the moment! She is hitting the ball all around the ground. Mandhana, too, has looked stable for the team. India will hope to set to huge target for the hosts.

Shafali Verma is hitting it pretty hard!

Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana walk in to open the innings for Team India.

Team India skipper Harmanpreet Kaur has now played the most T20 World Cups for India.

FormerAustralia men's captain Michael Clarke has been to the Syndey pitch and has given his opinion on it.

Did you know that Australia women have completed an incredible 145 years! Have a look.

Australia have won the toss and opted to field first


India Women (Playing XI): Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Deepti Sharma, Veda Krishnamurthy, Shikha Pandey, Taniya Bhatia(w), Arundhati Reddy, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad

Australia Women (Playing XI): Alyssa Healy(w), Beth Mooney, Ashleigh Gardner, Meg Lanning(c), Ellyse Perry, Rachael Haynes, Annabel Sutherland, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Molly Strano, Megan Schutt

It is India's chance for redemption as they begin their T20 World Cup campaign against defending champions Australia at Sydney on Friday. The precious trophy has eluded India ever since the tournament began in 2009.

India' middle and lower-order needs to do a lot better than what it has been doing to beat the likes of Australia and England in the knock-out stages, something that has been been acknowledged star opener Smriti Mandhana.

The team needs to ensure that the frequent middle-order collapses are not repeated in the showpiece event.


Australia: Erin Burns, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes (vice-capt), Alyssa Healy (wk), Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Meg Lanning (capt), Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck, Georgia Wareham.

India: Taniya Bhatia (wk), Harleen Deol, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Richa Ghosh, Harmanpreet Kaur (capt), Veda Krishnamurthy, Smriti Mandhana, Shikha Pandey, Arundhati Reddy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Shafali Verma, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal