Wellington: New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson Sunday said he was left heartbroken after realising his mistake of not opting for DRS when Ross Taylor was ruled LBW by the on-field umpire during the fifth ODI which India won by 35 runs here. Taylor was trapped by Hardik Pandya in the 11th over, leaving New Zealand reeling at 38/3 while chasing 253 for a win.
The ball seemed to have struck Taylor above the knee roll and the batsman walked off after a chat with his captain without taking a review. However, the replays showed the ball had clearly missed the stumps.
“I heard about that not long after I got out which is extremely frustrating. We had a conversation and Ross has been batting absolutely beautifully so it breaks your heart when you realise you make a mistake like that through communication,” Williamson said at the post-match conference.
The duo had 15 seconds to challenge the decision but with no indications from Williamson, Taylor walked back to the pavilion. “Yeah, he walked past me and asked, ‘what do you reckon, and maybe it’s too high, and maybe it’s umpire’s call,’ and unfortunately it’s one of those things that we move on (from),” Williamson said.