Galaxy of global stars to descend in Sri Lanka for Lankan Premier League

Colombo: World T20 cricket’s biggest star by far, West Indies legend Chris Gayle is all set and ready to roar in the Lankan Premier League 2020 after he was picked as one of foreign icons by Kandy Tuskers in the Players Draft today.

The draft, held online, also saw Colombo Kings picking up former Sri Lanka captain in all formats Angelo Mathews, former South African skipper Faf du Plessis and Jamaican all-rounder with more than 300 T20 matches under his belt, Andre Russel among others. Mathews is the Local Icon in the team while Faf and Russel are the two overseas icons. The Kings also picked Sri Lanka-born former Australian player and coach, the man who took Sri Lanka to the top of the world in limited overs cricket when the Island Nation won the ICC Cricket World Cup in 1996, Dav Whatmore, as part of the coaching set-up.

Apart from Gayle, the Tuskers also picked up Kusal Janith as the Local Icon while Liam Plunkett is the second foreign icon in the team. The Tuskers also have former Sri Lankan captain Hashan Tillakaratne in its coaching staff. Galle Gladiators have Lasith Malinga as the Local Icon while Shahid Afridi and Colin Ingram are the two overseas signing and the team will be coached by former Pakistan skipper Moin Khan. Dasun Shanaka is the Local Icon for Dambulla Hawks while David Miller and Carlos Brathwaite are the overseas signing. The Hawks team will be coached by former English cricketer Jon Lewis. Jaffna Stallions have Thisara Perera as the Local Icon and Dawid Malan as the overseas signing.

In attendance during the draft were SLC VP and LPL Tournament Director Mr Ravin Wickramaratne, SLC CEO Mr Ashley de Silva, franchisee owners and head coaches of each teams. Renowned international cricket commentators Mr Charu Sharma and Mr Roshan Abeysinghe were the co-hosts of the LPL draft. The Lanka Premier League is scheduled to be played from November 21 to December 13, 2020 at two venues—Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy and Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota. Teams will compete in 23 matches over a 15-day period for the title.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal