Rishabh Pant
Rishabh Pant

Rishabh Pant made a silly stumping error in India's second T20I match against Bangladesh at Saurashtra Cricket Association, Stadium on Thursday.

When Yuzvendra Chahal was bowling the sixth over of the first innings, and in his third delivery, Liton Das stepped out to slog the bowler but was beaten by the leg-breaker and was stumped behind by Pant.

Das had started walking back to the pavilion, but on-field umpire asked him to stay, just to check where the ball was collected by the wicket-keeper.

It was an easy chance for India to have their first wicket of the day, but replays showed that Pant collected the ball right in front of the stumps.

The rules say the ball can be collected in front of the stumps only when the batsman makes contact with the ball. If there's no contact is made by the batsman, the ball has to be collected behind the stumps.

Chahal and Rohit Sharma were completely amused with Pant's keenness for the stumping as both the Bangladesh openers looked settled and were smashing the ball around, scoring 41 runs.

Later, Das smashed Chahal for two back-to-back boundaries after he survived the stumping and Bangladesh ended their powerplay without losing any wicket, putting 54 runs on the board.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal