Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Cup: Space Cricket, Future Group win

Mumbai: Space Cricket SC and Future Group scored contrasting wins in their respective first round matches of the 10th Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Cup, RCF T20 Cricket Tournament, at the RCF Colony ground, Chembur, here on Thursday. Space Cricket produced a strong fighting performance to snatch a 13-run win against Mumbai Port Trust. Future Group got the better of Mumbai Customs by four wickets.

Mumbai Port Trust bowlers did well to pick wicket in regular intervals after they opted to field. and Space Cricket were bowled out with two deliveries to spare. Thanks to Ravindra Jadhav came up with a face-saving knock of 33. He along with Saeed Khot added 32 valuable runs for the ninth wicket and helped the innings cross the hundred run mark before their innings folded. MBPT bowlers Yogesh Dicholkar (4-15), Yash Chavan (3-11) and Harsh Tanna 2-33) shared the spoils.

Defending a low total, Space Cricket bowlers were a disciplined lot and they received excellent support from the fielders, who were responsible for three run outs, and they also saved a lot of runs to frustrate the rival batsmen. Except for number seven bat Atharva Chavan (35 runs) and Naresh Kamble (17 runs) none of the other Port Trust batters could reach double figures. For Space Cricket, Geet Sharma (4/27) was the main wicket-taker while Bharat Meher (2/11) played the supporting role.

Brief scores: Space Cricket SC 110 (Ravindra Jadhav 33, (21b, 30m, 4×6), Vinit Parab 21; Yogesh Dicholkar 4-15, Yash Chavan 3-11, Harsh Tanna 2-33) bt MBPT: 97 (Atharva Chavan 35, Naresh Kamble 17; Geet Sharma 4-27, Bharat Meher 2-11) by 13 runs. MoM: Ravindra Jadhav (Space Cricket). Mumbai Customs 164-8 (Vikrant Auti 29, Swapnil Pradhan 29; Akshay Darekar 3-24, Raunaq Sharma 2-20) lost to Future Group 165-6 (Harsh Tank 50 (40b, 75n, 6×4, 1×6), Sachin Yadav 34, Aplesh Ramjani 31; Atif Attarwala 3-29) by 4 wickets. MoM: Harsh Tank (Future Group).

Companeores, Union Bank win
Companeroes SC struck good form in the second period and romped to a convincing 3-0 win against Bombay Muslims in an Elite Division match of the Rustomjee-MDFA League 2018-2019 and played at the Neville D’Souza ground, Bandra on Thursday. Striker Wayne Trinadade netted two goals while Suresh Suthar scored one to complete Companeroes charge to victory. Union Bank of India also stormed with a 3-0 win over Century Rayon.

Super Div: Companeroes SC: 3 (W Trinadade 2, S Suthar) bt Bombay Muslims 0; Union Bank of India: 3 (Paintal Saini 2, Valentine Pereira) bt Century Rayon: 0.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal