Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Cup: Mafatlal’s Nande knocks off TSC

Mumbai: An unbeaten 77 by Karan Nande powered Mafatlal SC to a massive 136 runs victory against Teleperformance SC (TSC) in a first round match of the 10th RCF T20 Cricket Tournament 2019 for the Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Cup, at the RCF Colony ground, Chembur here on Friday.

The formidable Mafatlal team, who were put into bat first, faced little difficulty in negotiating the rival bowling attack and their batsmen, in particular Nande, scored runs freely and they amassed a huge total of 211 losing four of their top batsmen. In reply, Teleperformance batsmen surrendered meekly and were bowled out a measly 75 in only 11 overs.

It was just Priyank Patel who could resist the rival attack as he went on to score 31. However.s not supprot form the other end as they were bundled out for 75 with nine overs to spare. Rohit Singh (2-34), Prasad Patil (2-0), Puneet Tripati (2-6) and Omkar Jadhav (2-10) were among the wickets for Mafatlal. Karan Nande of Mafatlal won the ‘Man-of-the-Match’ and received the award from Niranjan S. Sonak.

Brief scores

Mafatlal 211-4 (Karan Nande* 77 (49b, 53m, 13×4), Siddharth Adhatrao 40 (20b, 36m, 3×4, 3×6), Onkar Jadhav 43* (23b, 25m, 6×4); Neil Narvekar 2-33) bt Teleperformance 75 (Priyank Patel 31 (21b, 47m, 3×4, 1×6), Sunil Lingayat 20; Rohit Singh 2-34, Prasad Patil 2-0, Puneet Tripati 2-6. Omkar Jadhav 2-10) by 136 runs. MoM: Karan Nande (Mafatlal).

Easy for CFCI

Community Football Club of India (CFCI) went on to record a thumping 5-0 win over Mumbai Strikers, in an Elite Division match of the Rustomjee-MDFA League. at the Neville D’Souza ground, Bandra, here on Friday. Strikers Vaibhai K and Rishon Sam scored a brace each while Mumbai Strikers gifted them with one courtesy Mumbai defender Rakesh Patne.

Aarav, Dhruv in semis

Aarav Sanghi and Dhruv Shah dropped a game each before rallying to get the better of their respective rivals to enter the cadet boys singles semifinals of the All India Balkan-Ji-Bari Dilip Sampat Memorial inter-school table tennis tournament, here today. Aarav was a bit erratic in the beginning against Merwyn Patel before he prevailed at 8-11, 11-6, 11-7, 11-9, Dhruv was given tough fight by Parth Magor before he triumphed 11-7, 10-12, 11-7, 11-6.

Prisha Shah put up good show as she downed Ridhima Mondal 11-7, 11-6, 8-11, 11-3 to move into the cadet girls singles last four. And joining her were Anshita Thamankar , a 11-1, 3-11, 11-7, 9-11, 11-6 victor over Remat Kaur Vijan, Ayesha Dhorwala brushed aside Sanchi Dhobale 11-4, 11-6, 11-4 and Mugdha Desai defeated Shika Punjabi 11-6, 11-9, 11-2.

Results: Girls (cadet; Qfs): Prisha Shah bt Ridhima Mondal 11-7, 11-6, 8-11, 11-3; Anshita Thamankar bt Remat Kaur Vijan 11-1, 3-11, 11-7, 9-11,11-6; Ayesha Dhorwala bt Sanchi Dhobale 11-4, 11-6, 11-4; Mugdha Desai bt Shika Punjabi 11-6, 11-9, 11-2. Juniors: K Pawar bt R Rao 11-6, 12-10, 11-9; P Shah bt E Shah 11-9, 11-7, 11-5; Bhoomi Pitale bt Meha Shah 11-4, 11-8, 11-8; Kiara Pinto bt Riya Mulik 11-7, 11-3, 11-3. Boys: A Sanghvi bt M Patel 8-11, 11-6, 11-7, 11-9; V Agarwal bt A Kshirsagar 11-7, 11-7, 11-6; D Shah bt P Magor 11-7, 10-12, 11-7, 11-6; Y Yadav bt Dhruv Patil 11-5, 11-1, 11-4.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal