New Delhi : Unable to discuss the proposed domestic points system by the Anil Kumble-led technical committee in May due the adjournment of its working committee meeting, the BCCI is in no position to implement the new format in the upcoming Ranji season, according to a report.

The board members were due to look into the proposal on August 28 when the meeting was adjourned within minutes due to N Srinivasan’s presence.

The highlight of the proposed system, which saw major changes in the current format, was the doing away of points for the first-innings lead in a Ranji game.

The decision though was not taken in good light by a few BCCI members, who were not impressed with the idea of a game finishing without a point being given to a team after four days of action. Many had raised a few eyebrows, with some of the BCCI member units expressing apprehension over the possibility of both teams earning no points after a four-day game.

But the working committee meeting was adjourned after Srinivasan decided to attend it despite being requested to stay away from the meet due to his complicated legal status.

According to ESPNcricinfo, with no discussion taking place on the points system so far, the BCCI now has no option but to stick to last season’s points system.

Meanwhile,  Sudeep Tyagi and Siddharth Trivedi, the medium pacers from Uttar Pradesh and Gujarat respectively, won’t be a part of the Saurashtra Ranji Trophy squad for the first two matches this season.  Saurashtra, relegated to group “C” after the poor performance of last season, would play against Tripura. The match is scheduled to start from October 1 at Madhavrao Scindia Cricket ground.

“Jaydev Shah has been named captain of the 15-member squad, while Cheteshwar Pujara and Ravindra Jadeja, the two most successful players in recent past from Saurashtra, have been included,” Himanshu Shah, Surarshtra Cricket Association’s media manager, said.

Tyagi had played first time for Saurashtra last year, while Siddharth Trivedi had almost about five year-long association with the SCA.

However the SCA did not clarify whether the two have been dropped or they have decided to play for other teams. Dipak Punia and Vandit Jivrajani are the two new faces in the squad. Puniya, a medium pacer, has played eight first class matches for the Services and would play first time for Saurashtra.

“As preparation has been on at SCA stadium Khandhri for the third ODI between India and South Africa, SCA has decided that opening match would be played at Madhavrao Scindia Cricket ground,” Shah added.

Team: Jaydev Shah (captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Sagar Jogiyani, Sheldon Jackson, Arpit Vasavada, Kamlesh Makawana, Dharmendra Jadeja, Jaydev Unadkat, Chirag Jani, Avi Barot, Vandit Jivrajani, Mohsin Dodiya, Dipak Puniya and Abhishek Bhatt.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal