Melbourne: Australia on Sunday became only the second outfit to clinch the cricket World Cup trophy on home soil, and third ever to win as co-hosts. Australia defeated New Zealand by seven wickets in the final to hold aloft the grand prize in front of a packed house at the MCG. In 2011, India became the first team to win the coveted trophy in their own backyard and second to win it as co-hosts when they beat Sri Lanka in the last edition at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The other two countries hosting the event were Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. In 1996, Sri Lanka laid their hands on the World Cup, a first for a co-host as they beat Australia at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. The tournament was held in India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal