Borivali Premier Football League: Shelar FC edge past Kajupada FC

Mumbai: Shelar FC snatched a narrow 1-0 win against Kajupada FC in a second round match of the 4th Borivali Premier Football League (BPFL) – 2019, organised under the auspices of MDFA by the Borivali Sports Foundation and played at the St. Francis D’Assisi High School ground, Borivali (West). Striker Sagar Gawade netted the lone winning goal to seal Shelar FC’s victory.

Results: Group-A: Shelar FC 1 (S Gawade) bt Kajupada FC: 0; Fleetfooters FC: 8 (J Mathew 2, D Waghela 2, T Poojary 2, U Prembra 2) bt Friends United: 0. Group-B: Tiger Sports Club: 1 (A Dalvi) bt ND2 Soccer Starz: 0.

Oranje FC win

Oranje FC scored a comfortable 4-0 win against Miners SC ‘A’ in a First Division match of the Rustomjee-MDFA League, at the Neville D’Souza ground, Bandra here on Thursday.

Results: First Div: Oranje FC: 4 (G Singh 2, D Varghese, M Bubere) bt Miners SC ‘A’: 0; III Div: Veer Engineering Sports: 2 (P Singh 2) bt BS Pasi FC: 0 ; CFCI Hedgewar Boys: 1 (S Bhande) drew with Chemburites SC: 1 (A Alhat); Ruffians FC: 2 (I Shaikh, F Shaikh) bt Naseeb Reloaded: 0.

Gladiators stunned

Central Railway Mechanical Institute team CRMI ‘Star Blue’ caused a major upset as they beat Chembur Gymkhana’s fancied outfit CG ‘Gladiators’ 3-1, in a round of 32 match of the Billiards and Snooker of Maharashtra organised Otters-BSAM Mumbai Snooker League 2019.

Results: Rd- 32: PJHG ‘Action Jackson’ bt MIG ‘Monks’ 3-2 (A Shandilya (+50) lost A Soni (+50) 65- 96; J Thakkar (+50) lost S Sawant (+50) 85-111; U Shah/ V Mehta (+33) bt G Prabhu/ P Singh (+21) 77-23; J Thakkar (+50) bt A Soni (+50) 112-87; A Shandilya (+50) bt P Singh (+30) 103-56). CRMI ‘Star Blue’ bt CG ‘Gladtiators’ 3-1 (N Ghadge (+30) lost A Agrawal (+20) 69-76; C Singh/ J Thomas (+32) bt V Thakkar/ V Madan (+23) 96-86; U Barwe (+50) bt L Pathare (+25) 100-57; C Singh (+55) bt A Agrawal (+20) 102-63).

Pradhan, Joshi seeded

Abhishek Pradhan, and Urwashi Joshi have been top seeded in the men’s and women’s singles respectively in the GSC-All India Squash Open, organised by Goregoan Sports Club at their courts from Saturday, July 6. While Tejas Chawla in boys under-19 and Tanishka Jain in girls under-17 have been given the pride of place in their under-19 and under-17 events. Nearly 300 players from various parts of the country are taking part in this 6-day event.

- FPJ Sports Desk

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal