Bombay YMCA Mumbai District ranking carrom tournament: Sangeeta Chandorkar pockets championship

Mumbai: Top seed Sangeeta Chandorkar (RBI) lived up to her billing as got the better of second seed Preeti Khedekar of CDA, Indian Navy in a nail-biting women’s final of the VI Muthoot Finance-Bombay YMCA Mumbai District ranking carrom tournament, at the Procter YMCA branch, Agripada, Mumbai Central, here on Friday.

Sangeeta and Preeti gave it their best shot before the former managed to scrape through winning by a 25-19, 11-25 and 25-16 scoreline to emerge champion. Earlier in the penultimate round Sangeeta staved off the spirited fight from unseeded Shilpa Palnitkar of LIC before snatching a hard-fought 25-16, 25-13 win, while Preeti tamed Sushma Pardeshi of Shivatara CC coasting to a 25-6, 25-9 victory.

In men’s section, the top seeds Zahid Ahmed (AI) and Girish Tambe (MCGM), fourth seed Prashant More (RBI) and Sandeep Deorukhkar (ONGC), all won their respective quarter-final matches to progress to the semi-finals. Zahid Ahmed will meet Prashant More and Girish Tambe will take on Sandeep Deorukhkar for a place in the final.

Women (final): Sangeeta Chandorkar (RBI) bt Preeti Khedekar (CDA Navy) 25-19, 11-25, 25-16; semi-finals: S Chandorkar (RBI) bt Shilpa Palnitkar (LIC) 25-16, 25-13; P Khedekar (CDA, Navy) bt Sushma Pardesi Shivatara) 25-6, 25-9
Men (Qfs): Girish Tambe (MCGM) bt Faizan Ansari (SS Group) 25-11, 18-25, 25-19; Sandeep Deorukhkar (ONGC) bt Salman Khan (MLWB) 5-25, 25-8, 25-10; Prashant More (RBI) bt Vikas Dharia (MCGM) 25-21, 25-6; Zahid Ahmed (Air India) bt Amol Sawardekar (MLWB) 25-23, 25-2; )Pqfs): Faizan Ansari (SS Group) bt Fahim Kazi (Worli SC) 25-7, 25-13; Prashant More (RBI) bt Jeetendra Kale (DGA-C) 25-8, 25-1; Vikas Dharia (MCGM) bt Hareswar Betvanshi (SS Group) 25-15, 25-7; Amol Sawardekar (MLWB) bt Tejas Solanki (Scorpian CC) 25-8, 25-13; Girish Tambe (MCGM) bt Dilesh khedekar (DGA-C) 25-10, 25-18; Sandeep Deorukhkar (ONGC) bt Abhishek Bharati (SS Group) 25-7, 25-4; Zahid Ahmed (Air India) bt Rahul Solanki (Shivtara) 25-0, 25-22; Salman Khan (MLWB) bt Nitin Parmar (Worli SC) 20-25, 25-17, 25-7.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal