BJP ticket politics confined to Bhopal; Congress’ to Delhi

Dhakad and Rathore may be BJP candidates from Khachrod- Barnagar .. Cong high- command asks screening panel to submit single

Ujjain: Issue of finalising the names of candidates for 7 Assembly constituencies of the district has reached to its peak both in the BJP and Congress camps with their party leaders indulging in extensive consultations in Bhopal and New Delhi respectively, throughout Monday. If reports are to be believed, BJP has indicated to field Dayaram Dhakad from Nagda- Khachrod and Kanha Singh Rathore from Barnagar constituency.

BJP ticket politics confined to Bhopal; Congress’ to Delhi

On the other hand, after a brief meeting of the Central Election Committee ( CEC), the Congress highcommand asked the screening committee to submit single name list for all 230 Assembly seats of Madhya Pradesh.

The two- day State Election Committee ( SEC) meeting of the BJP started at about 11 am at Bhopal headquarters of the party and continued till late evening. Sources told Free Press over phone that all members of the SEC remained confined to the venue and they even switched- off their mobile phones.

What transpired among the SEC members could not come out, but it is learnt that the BJP national general secretary and State in- charge Anantha Kumar talked to every member on each of the constituency after serving them the list of probable candidates prepared by the state party chief Narendra Singh Tomar, general secretary ( organisation) Arvind Menon and Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan.

The meeting is likely to continue on Tuesday which will be followed by the meeting of the Central Parliamentary Board in New Delhi on October 30 or 31. According to sources, final list of the candidates is likely to be officially announced after Deepawali.

Meanwhile, a meeting of Dayaram Dhakad and Kanha Singh Rathore with party chief Tomar in Bhopal on late Sunday is considered to be crucial so far as finalisation of the names of candidates from the district.

Dhakad is a senior functionary of the Bharatiya Kisan Sangh and as Dhakad ( OBC) voters are quite high in Nagda- Khachrod Assembly constituency, the party has considered for his candidature this time. Voters of Rajput community are also considerable from this seat, but since the party nominee Dilip Singh Shekhawat lost the election in 2008 and the deep dispute among the local Rajput leaders still persists, the party has made up its mind to field Dhakad.

Rathore, who was the Zila Panchayat president, has been considered from Barnagar following sizeable number of Rajput voters there. Presently, Shantilal Dhabai is the BJP MLA and he belongs to adav ( OBC) community.

Name of Jitendra Singh Pandya, son of former MLA Udai Singh Pandya, is also doing the rounds from Barnagar looking at the high number of Brahmin voters, but Dhabai group has mounted a huge pressure on the party leaders not to consider Pandya’s name. By preferring Dhakad and Rathore’s names, the party leadership has indicated to balance the OBC and Rajput voters.

Now, the party has started concentrating on finalising the candidates from Ujjain South and Ujjain North constituencies.

From these constituencies, names of State Tourism Development Corporation chairman Mohan adav and Minister for Food and Civil Supply Paras Jain are doing the rounds, respectively.

But, if OBC and Rajput community candidates are adjusted as mentioned above, then the party may tip a Brahmin candidate from Ujjain North and a woman candidate from Ujjain South.

The ticket aspirants, who have been lobbying hard at Bhopal for last couple of days, started redesigning their strategy in the wake of change of equations at Nagda- Khachrod and Barnagar constituencies.

Meanwhile, chaos over the names of Congress candidates continued as the three- day CEC meeting, which was convened at 10, Janpath, New Delhi located house of the AICC chief Sonia Gandhi on Monday morning, failed even to consider the names of probable candidates from 4 constituencies.

Party has already cleared the names of all three sitting MLAs Dilip Singh Gurjar, Kalpana Parulekar and Ramlal Malviya to contest election from Nagda- Khachrod, Mahidpur and Ghattiya constituencies respectively.

Sources told over phone from Delhi that the CEC directed the screening committee to submit a list containing only single name from every constituency and these names may be considered during its meeting on Tuesday and Wednesday.

Inputs also suggest that the party may announce the candidature from Ujjain North, Ujjain South, Barnagar and Tarana constituencies after Deepawali.

From Ujjain North, tussle for ticket is reported to be between Rajendra Bharati, Noori Khan and Vivek adav. From Ujjain South, names of Jai Singh Darbar and Rajendra Vashishtha are doing the rounds. From Barnagar, names of Mahesh Patel, Virendra Singh Sisodia and Murli Morwal are being considered.

From Tarana, names of Rajendra Malviya, Mahesh Parmar and Pushpa Chauhan are being considered. Most of these aspirants have been camping at Delhi to woo their bosses.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal