Mumbai: Last year’s runners-up Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL) made most of the lapses of Union Bank of India as they pulled out a 4-2 in their opener (Pool C) encounter in the 53rd All India Bombay Gold Cup hockey championship, organized by the Mumbai Hockey Association Limited (MHAL) and played at the MHAL-Mahindra Stadium, Churchgate here on Tuesday.

BPCL took the lead through Abharan Sudev’s penalty corner conversion in the first quarter before Union Bank restored parity in the second quarter through captain Anurag Sharma’s efforts to go into the break tied at 1-1. After switching sides BPCL struck two goals in the third quarter through Sudev (36th minute) and Shivam Anand (45th minute) to give them 3-1 lead.

They extended their command over their rivals when Rabichandran Moirangthem (50th minute) scored to round up their tally. Vinod Saini converted a short corner to reduce the margin Union Bank. Uttar Pradesh XI and Rail Coach Factory, Kapurthala signed a peace treaty in a 2-2 draw in a Pool-D match.

Pool-C: Bharat Petroleum, Mumbai: 4 (Abharan Sudev 2, Shivam Anand, Rabichandran Moirangthem) bt Union Bank of India, Mumbai: 2 (Anurag Sharma, Vinod Saini)

Pool-D: Rail Coach Factory, Kapurthala: 2 (Baljeet Singh, Sanklap Singh) drew with Uttar Pradesh XI 2: (Faiz Sarwan, Atul Deep).

ONGC down Air India
Defending champions ONGC scored a 2-1 win against challengers Air India (AI) in an Elite Division match of the Rustomjee-MDFA League 2018-2019 and played at the Cooperage ground. ONGC took the lead when Abhijit Taware in the 11th minute. Hinmanshu Patil made it 2-0 in their favour. Air India Rinaldo Fernandes scored AI.

(To download our E-paper please click here. The publishers permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal