Photo credit: IPL/ Twitter
Photo credit: IPL/ Twitter

The 12th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is just around the corner and fans are eagerly waiting for March 23, when IPL 2019 kicks off with the match between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore. In the 11 years of its existence, this tournament has seen many records made and destroyed. Some facts about IPL are well-known because of the popularity of the player or the team. But still, there are some records about IPL that are not so familiar. So, here are 25 IPL facts that will blow your mind.

  • Sachin Tendulkar and Virat Kohli are only Indian cricketers who have Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award in IPL. Tendulkar has scored 618 runs in IPL 2010 and Kohli has hammered 973 runs in IPL 2016.
  • Ishant Sharma holds the record of giving most runs in an innings. He gave away 66 runs in 4 overs against CSK in 2013.
  • Zaheer Khan is the only cricketer to feature in the first and the 500th match of the Indian Premier League. Khan played for RCB in the first match, he played for DD in the 500th game.
  •  Piyush Chawla holds the record of bowling maximum overs before delivering no-ball. The first no-ball came after bowling 386 overs in his IPL career. He bowled one during a match against DD in 2016.
  •  AB de Villiers and Kieron Pollard are the only overseas cricketers who have played more than 100 matches for a single IPL team.
  •  Harbhajan Singh has bowled the most number of dot balls in the IPL history. He has bowled 1,128 dot deliveries in the 11 seasons of the league.
  • RCB holds record of both the highest and lowest team total in IPL history. They scored 263/4 in against Gujarat Lions but they were also bowled out for 49 in against KKR.
  •  Chennai Super Kings is the only team in IPL that has never changed its captain.
  •  Harbhajan Singh holds the record of most ducks in the tournament’s history. Harbhajan has been ducked out 13 times.
  •  Jofra Archer once bowled at 152.39 km/h, which became the fastest ball delivery in IPL history.
  • Amit Mishra holds the record of highest number of hat-tricks in the history of IPL. He has taken 3 hat-tricks.
  • Dwayne Bravo has the record of taking most wickets in one season. In IPL 2015 Bravo took 32 wickets, breaking the record of Lasith Malinga (28 wickets).
  • Brendon McCullum became the first player to wear the Orange Cap and Shaun Marsh became the first winner of the award.
  • Mujeeb Ur Rahman is the youngest player (16) in the history of IPL. Mujeeb is also the highest paid U-19 player to feature in IPL 2018 (4 crore).
  • With 36 half-centuries, David Warner holds the record for most half-centuries in IPL.
  • Kings XI Punjab has changed its captain 11 times in 11 seasons of IPL.

Free Press Journal