Mumbai : The three of the four new MLCs who have been elected unopposed to the state legislative council took oath as members of the house on Tuesday.

Vinayak Mete, Smita Wagh and Mahadeo Jankar took oath as members of the upper house today. Chairman Shovajirao Deshmukh administered the oath to the new members.

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, minister for parliamentary affairs Girish Bapat, revenue minister Eknath Khadse, speaker of the assembly Haribahu Bagde, deputy chairman of the council Vasant Davkhare, minister of state for rural development Deepak Kesarkar, Leader of opposition in the council Dhananjay Munde and state BJP president Raosaheb Danve were present at the occasion.

Desai, who had lost the recent assembly election, is learnt to have been unhappy over the seat was offered to him. The term of the seat in council is said to lapse next year. Desai also wanted to go to Davos along with chief minister Devendra Fadnavis to attend the world economic forum. But, the CM instead selected a few bureaucrats in the delegation to accompany him.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal