Mumbai : Four small partners amongst the six parties ‘Mahayuti’ have demanded the larger share which has slowed down the pace of discussion over seat-sharing agreement for the Assembly elections, a senior BJP leader told FPJ.

‘Mahayuti’ includes Rajya Sabha member Ramdas Athawale’s Republican Party of India (RPI-A), MP Raju Shetty’s Swabhimani Shetakari Sanghatana (SSS), Mahadev Jankar’s Rashtriya Samaj Party (RSP) and MLC Vinayak Mete’s Shiv Sangram (SS), along with BJP and Shiv Sena.

During the initial meeting for the seat-sharing agreement last week, BJP and Sena leaders decided that they will discuss the seat-sharing formula for smaller partners first. But, it became clear on Monday that the total number of seats demanded by the smaller parties amount to over 150.

The RPI has demanded 47 seats, of which they are keen on getting at least 20. RSP demanded 59, SSS 40 and Mete’s Shiv Sangram has demanded 16 seats. RPI, RSP and SSS have also produced lists of the seats they are eyeing. Some of these assembly segments have seating BJP and Shiv Sena MLAs. Hence, five sub committees have been formed, wherein senior leaders from BJP and Shiv Sena have been entrusted with discussions with a particular alliance partner.

In a jubilant mood after success in the parliamentary elections, BJP was eyeing to get more assembly seats from Shiv Sena. But, demand from the smaller alliance partners has put a question mark over BJP’s demand for more seats.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal