Mumbai : Deputy Chairman of Legislative Council Vasant Davkhare, who is the sitting MLC of the NCP and is most likely to be the candidate for the Thane Local Authorities Constituency, will probably have to face a tough contest from Shiv Sena rival, in the June 3 elections.

If one strictly goes by the number of elected corporators in the civic bodies of Thane and Palghar districts, Davkhare should not have much of a problem in sailing through. But, the changed politics of the district may pose a tough challenge for him.

Shiv Sena has several aspirants like former MLC Anant Tare, Naresh Mhaske, Gopal Landge, H S Patil and Sunil Chowdhari to take on Dawkhare. However, sources said that the party is likely to finalize Tare for the fight.

Thane Local Authorities Constituency for the Legislative Council covers civic bodies in Thane and Palghar districts. As per the voter data of the Election Commission there are a total of 1,040 electors (corporators) in the civic bodies of both the districts. Thane district has 10 local bodies with a total strength of 793 electors, while Palghar has 247 electors from five local bodies.

The electors do not include the corporators from the Thane Zilla Parishad because of the bifurcation of the district in 2015 and the creation of Palghar district. Thane Zilla Parishad was dissolved in January 2015 and subsequent election was boycotted and only five to seven corporators were elected, but the body was not constituted.

As per the election data of civic polls held between 2009-13 the opposition NCP-Congress alliance still holds an upper hand with more than 326 corporators. The BJP-Shiv Sena alliance has just about 260 corporators on its side. However, the outcome of the election might well be decided by smaller local parties like the Bahujan Vikas Aghadi and Independent corporators.

As per the election program announced by the ECI, elections to the Thane Local Authorities will be held on June 3. Notification for the elections will be issued on May 10, the last date for filing nominations is May 17, scrutiny of nomination papers will be taken up on May 18, last date for withdrawal of nomination papers will be May 20 and counting of votes on June 6.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal