BMC Elections: SEC declares public holiday on 16th & 21st Feb to increase voter turnout

Ten municipal corporations including Mumbai, Thane, Pune and Nagpur, 25 Zilla Parishads and 283 Panchayat Samitis are scheduled to go to polls in February. Over seven crore voters in major cities and vast rural stretches areas will elect 1,258 corporators, 1,558 members of district councils and 3,116 panchayat samiti members.

To increase the voter turnout the election commission has declared holiday on 16 and 21 February. Ten municipalities and 118 panchayat samitis will go for polling on 21 February in Maharashtra. And 15 zilla parishads and 165 panchayat samitis will go for polls on 16 February.

Jalgaon, Ahemadnagar, Aurangaba, Jalana, Parbhani, Hingoli, Beed, Nanded, Usmanabad, Latur, Bulhdana, Yevatmal, Vardha, Chandrapur and Gadchiravli this 15 and 165 panchayat samitis will go for polls on 16 February, will have public hoilday on the of polling.

Raigad, Ratnagiri, Sindhurgh, Nashik, Pune, Satara, Sangli, Solapur, Kolhapur, Amravti and Gadchiravli including remaining panchayat samitis, with Mumbai, Thane, Pune, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Solapur, Nashik, Akola, Amravati and Nagpur’s Municipal corporations will have elections on 21 February will have a public holiday on polling day.

State Government has already declared holidays for its employees on these two polling days. The government has also directed private establishments, including malls, hotels, IT firms to either announce a holiday on polling day or at least grant a window of two hours for employees to vote.

(For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal