Aurangabad : Preparations have begun for election for the Marathwada graduate constituency which will have 609 polling booths for 368,385 voters.

The returning officer and Aurangabad’s division commissioner, Sanjeev Jaiswal, said on Tuesday that considering the rise in the number of voters, 151 new polling booths would be set up.

 There were 2.72 lakh voters in the 2008 election.

  The process of accepting nominations which began on Tuesday will be completed on June 3. Nominations will not be accepted on public holidays, Jaiswal said.

Vikram Kumar, assistant retuning officer and Aurangabad’s district collector, said votes would be cast on ballot papers instead on EVMs because of preferential voting system.

Each candidate filing his/her nomination paper will have to deposit Rs 5,000. The number of voters and polling booths are as follows: Aurangabad 107,029 voters (174 booths), Jalna 24,443 (52), Parbhani 31,202 (55), Hingoli 11,316 (27), Nanded 43,338 (75), Beed 59,470 (92), Latur 51,773 (76) and Osmanabad 31,814 (58).

Sudhir Dharmadhikari

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal