Indore: Poll training given in locked rooms of colleges
Photo by Indranil MUKHERJEE / AFP
Indore: Poll training given in locked rooms of colleges Photo by Indranil MUKHERJEE / AFP

Mumbai: The first phase of polling in seven Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra on April 11, has 116 candidates in the fray, an official release said here on Friday.

Over 1.30 crore voters are eligible to cast their vote in the first phase, it said. Preparations are going on in full swing for the first phase of elections. There are 116 candidates in the fray for whom 1,30,35,000 voters are eligible to cast their votes at 14,919 polling centres,” it said.

Of the total number of voters, 66.71 lakh are males and 63.64 lakh females. In addition, 181 voters belong to the third gender category. Nearly 44,000 EVMs and 20,000 VVPAT machines will be put to use. Total 73,837 employees are deputed to conduct the polling process, it added. Voting for Lok Sabha polls will be held in four phases in the state.

In the first phase, Wardha, Ramtek, Nagpur, Bhandara-Gondiya, Gadchiroli-Chimur, Chandrapur and Yavatmal-Washim constituencies will go to polls. In view of the summer temperature, the Election Commmission has given directions to provide drinking water and put up sheds for voters.

The material required for polling has been given to the district collectors. Polling in Naxal-hit areas of Gadhciroli-Chimur Lok Sabha constituency will be conducted between 7 am and 3 pm. In Wardha constituency, there are 2,026 polling centres for 8.93 lakh male and 8.48 lakh female voters.

Together there are 17.41 lakh voters. In Ramtek constituency, 2,364 polling centres are provided for 9.96 lakh male and 9.24 lakh female voters totaling to 19.21 lakh voters. In Nagpur, there are 2,065 polling centres for 10.96 lakh male and 10.63 lakh female voters.

The total number of voters in Nagpur is 21.60 lakh. The Bhandara-Gondiya constituency has 2,184 polling centres for 9.05 lakh male and 9.03 lakh female voters. The total number of voters in that constituency is 18.08 lakh. In Gadchiroli-Chimur, there are 1,881 polling centres, where 15.80 lakh voters, including 7.99 male and 9.86 lakh female, are eligible to cast their votes.

In Chandrapur constituency, there are 2,193 polling centres for 19.08 lakh voters, of whom male voters count to 9.86 lakh, while female voters are 9.22 lakh. There are 19.14 lakh voters in Yavatmal-Washim constituency, of whom 9.93 lakh are male and 9.21 lakh are female. There are 2,206 polling centres in the constituency.

Two ballot units are placed at polling centres having over 15 contestants along with one control unit. For the first phase, 26,000 ballot units and 18,000 control units have been provided, in addition to 20,000 VVPAT machines. All the centres are equipped with extra machines.

(To view our epaper please click here. For all the latest News, Mumbai, Entertainment, Cricket, Business and Featured News updates, visit Free Press Journal. Also, follow us on Twitter and Instagram and do like our Facebook page for continuous updates on the go)

Free Press Journal