Lok Sabha elections 2019: 27 villages in Kalyan-Dombivli to vote against BJP-Shiv Sena candidates

Amid Lok Sabha elections, 27 villages in Kalyan-Dombivli have decided to vote against BJP-Shiv Sena candidates. According to DNA, people from those 27 villages in Kalyan-Dombivli have said that they would vote against the BJP-Shiv Sena candidates as they failed to deliver the promises made to them. On Sunday, a meeting was held by Sangharsh Samiti representing the 27 villages in which it was decided that they will vote against BJP-Shiv Sena candidates in April 29 Lok Sabha candidates.

Gulab Vaze, president of the Sangharsh Samiti told the leading daily, “They (incumbent parties) have failed to ensure development in our villages in the past 20 years. So we have decided not to vote for them. And to vote for the opposite candidate.” He also added that they will help and vote for the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate Babaji Patil. Vaze also said that the decision is just for the Lok Sabha elections and anti-Shiv Sena-BJP movement will not be carried over to the state Legislative Assembly elections to be held in October.

These 27 villages in Kalyan-Dombivli have a population of over 3 lakhs and have been fighting for their autonomy since the past 15 years. They were removed from Kalyan Dombivli municipal corporation (KDMC) jurisdiction and since then they had their own gram panchayat. The Mumbai Metropolitan Development Authority (MMRDA) in 2006 was appointed by the state government to plan their growth, but it failed to deliver. But in 2016 they were again added to KDMC against their wishes.

(To receive our E-paper on whatsapp daily, please click here. We permit sharing of the paper's PDF on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Free Press Journal